PDA

View Full Version : Adding YouTube vids to postings



Ma3rk
12-07-2014, 12:02 AM
A number of postings contain YouTube vids in the body of the message and I'm wondering how that's actually done. The Attachment manager doesn't give you that option nor does simply adding the URL. Trying to find out how on the board itself was futile.

I'm assuming it's a relatively simply procedure so please en lighten me.

Thanks.

ernpchan
12-07-2014, 12:10 AM
My guess is they're using the embed code. http://www.htmlgoodies.com/tutorials/web_graphics/article.php/3480061/How-To-Add-a-YouTube-Video-to-Your-Web-Site.htm

Slartibartfast
12-07-2014, 12:17 AM
Go advanced, insert video, paste youtube url

djwaterman
12-07-2014, 12:19 AM
Yes, right mouse over the YT clip to get the embed code and then drop that into your post. From memory that's what I did last time, I don't think I even had to use the add video option in the advanced made. Let's see.

<iframe width="854" height="510" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/yF7iFKt5mZI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yF7iFKt5mZI


Okay, so you do have to use the advanced mode and select the add video icon and put in the YT video address.

Oh, I see it's been answered already.

Sensei
12-07-2014, 05:25 AM
Or write in text box:

[video ]

copy'n'paste URL

[/ video]

(without spaces)

Ma3rk
12-07-2014, 09:52 AM
Thanks everyone.

Silly TINY icons. Never even knew that there was one for inserting video. Couldn't find any embedding code on YT either; never occurred to me that it would be a RMB action.

M.

jeric_synergy
12-07-2014, 10:50 AM
Silly TINY icons.
Probably designed on a Mac. It's an Apple cult thing: excessively un-obvious UIs. :grumpy: Feh!

Don't even get me started on iTunes. :devil:

Ma3rk
12-08-2014, 12:05 AM
Probably designed on a Mac. It's an Apple cult thing: excessively un-obvious UIs. :grumpy: Feh!

Don't even get me started on iTunes. :devil:

Ya. Unless you're using at least a 27" monitor, you're doing it wrong I guess.

And I'll heed your warning about iTudes.

M.

erikals
12-08-2014, 04:12 AM
i use AHK to do those kind of things without having to go into Advanced mode...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niJfSEnyg-o

i use this code

::vv:: .........................;when vv is pressed
Send,
.............;send
Send, ^v ....................;ctrl+v
Send, ...........;stop sending
return ........................;execute