PDA

View Full Version : procedural dirt maps



jkir
12-05-2014, 06:34 AM
Are there any in LW? I mean something like ctrl_occlusion for mental ray . Something that could represent worn edges or dirt accumulation in cavities? Maybe a kind of curvature map also?

Every4thPixel
12-05-2014, 06:44 AM
The ee grit node is what you need.

https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/grit-node/

But the link looks dead....

prometheus
12-05-2014, 07:02 AM
yep...the link seems dead, maybe someone could provide it for him personally?

hereīs a youtube link showcasing it...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5v0c2AymkFs

William vaughan has a tutorial on doing this with occlusion nodes and mixing with fractals nativly, so that might be worth checking out...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1-QEZ1TQI4

prometheus
12-05-2014, 07:04 AM
oh...the plugin was posted on these forums too, in another thread...
direct link to zip file...
http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=114793&d=1370604683

ee gritnode thread...
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?135878-Grit-Node-for-11-5

jkir
12-05-2014, 10:29 AM
Thanks. How to install it? Is it for Mac only?

Skonk
12-05-2014, 10:38 AM
For worn edges it's possible to use the DPKit Edge node (free plugin, google DPont nodes) to blend between textures. I forget how to do it but essentially the node gives 2 colour values for the edges and body of an object which, if you displace it or mask it a bit to rough it up, can be used to blend a nice worn material onto the edges.

I'm sure someone else will remember the technique better?

EDIT:

Basically this:
125860

jkir
12-05-2014, 11:53 AM
Thanks Skonk. The kit has curvature node too. Works pretty awesome

jkir
12-05-2014, 10:02 PM
I am curious is it possible to do the same in lightwave somehow http://www.enrichpro.com/en/richdirt/index.html

A kind of combination of dirt shader and streaks/

I think I saw something similar in render man and vray so guess it's probably a combination od occlusion shader + stretched noise+ a kind of directional falloff or something.

XswampyX
12-05-2014, 10:51 PM
Yes!

Here :- http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?135729-Cast-Ray-test-noob-Q

jkir
12-06-2014, 10:44 AM
Thanks a lot XswampyX, Could you post an example file please. It's still not clear how you did it. Especially that ray vectors part.

Oedo 808
12-06-2014, 11:09 AM
XswampyX's input is like Japanese porno, enticing, tantalizing, and just as it gets to the good bits you get cock blocked by pixelation.

Either that or I just don't know how to work Photobucket.

jeric_synergy
12-06-2014, 12:08 PM
XswampyX's input is like Japanese porno, ....
Vividly put.

Sensei
12-06-2014, 12:39 PM
I have no idea why on Earth he is using some photobucket since we can upload images on this forum without problem and have them at full hd quality, instead of resized to level not readable text..
Full HD GUI resized to 50% doesn't look good..

prometheus
12-06-2014, 01:28 PM
I have no idea why on Earth he is using some photobucket since we can upload images on this forum without problem and have them at full hd quality, instead of resized to level not readable text..
Full HD GUI resized to 50% doesn't look good..

+1


Xswampy is soo great, but I too wonder why the persistance of using photobucket, itīs tricky to get the full size and when you do ..you are not sure if it is the final and original size, and often it isnīt enough to be readable.

I on the other hand....do crazy workarounds on the forum just to throw the largest pic possible in to the face of others to be shown directly in the post instead of a too small thumbnail, I simply attach the file as an image from my computer,
then I go to preview post, and open the preview image in a second window..and then I pick up the web adress from there, and paste that adress in as an image file based on the web url, I could of course just leave it as the small thumbnail image..but I prefer to annoy a little with the big picture, which means I have to do more steps than necessary just to get there:)

spherical
12-07-2014, 03:54 AM
Xswampy is soo great, but I too wonder why the persistance of using photobucket, itīs tricky to get the full size and when you do ..you are not sure if it is the final and original size, and often it isnīt enough to be readable.

+100 :| I've asked this question many times. Got better for a while, then reverted.


I on the other hand....do crazy workarounds on the forum just to throw the largest pic possible in to the face of others to be shown directly in the post instead of a too small thumbnail, I simply attach the file as an image from my computer,
then I go to preview post, and open the preview image in a second window..and then I pick up the web adress from there, and paste that adress in as an image file based on the web url, I could of course just leave it as the small thumbnail image..but I prefer to annoy a little with the big picture, which means I have to do more steps than necessary just to get there:)

Yeah, bad for you; bad for us. Then, because of your "just to throw the largest pic possible in to the face of others", which is pretty much selfish, those large images have to be reloaded into everyone's browser each and every time we revisit the page; which causes no end of screen redraws as they finally load. When that happens, I have to just shut my eyes until the thrashing stops. Others might fall into an epileptic fit.

Look, your stuff is cool. I never fail to check out something you've shared when it is uploaded and auto-thumbnailed by the forum system. What's the point of "in my face"?

prometheus
12-07-2014, 04:03 AM
+100 :| I've asked this question many times. Got better for a while, then reverted.



Yeah, bad for you; bad for us. Then, because of your "just to throw the largest pic possible in to the face of others", which is pretty much selfish, those large images have to be reloaded into everyone's browser each and every time we revisit the page; which causes no end of screen redraws as they finally load. When that happens, I have to just shut my eyes until the thrashing stops. Others might fall into an epileptic fit.

Look, your stuff is cool. I never fail to check out something you've shared when it is uploaded and auto-thumbnailed by the forum system. What's the point of "in my face"?


Bad for me? why? and bad for us? why? ..are you everyone else? bad for you maybe...but I think we need some more opinions from others saying they donīt like it, then I might evaluate that.

I donīt like to look at my own attached images in the thumbnail size they show up directly in the browser, nor do I enjoy to watch others show up that way either, I would enjoy a little larger view from scratch.
in your face is just an expression and isnīt related to how I wish you or anyone else to perceive my postings.

and I myself do not see any big issues with loading the"large images" that are directly shown in the posts, neither my or anyone else..if they are kept at most common/normal screen sizes or hd format.
my download max speed is around 12 gigabyte, but I donīt have any big issue seeing others posting larger images.

In fact..I get more annoyed having to click on it and wait for the load, which seems to take longer than actually loading the page.
Then again with reservation...if it happens to be that everyone are posting large images directly and it slows down the thread...it might be better to post smaller images.

XswampyX
12-07-2014, 04:10 AM
Hello guys! :D

The simple reason for the photobucket images, is because the newtek forum software/set-up SUCKS BALLZ!

Most of the time I can't upload an image, in their crappy attachments window, then (if I do manage to upload any thing) It gets presented as a teeny weeny thumbnail.... 100 x 44 !!! - I run a resolution of 2048 x 1152....
Then after about 2 months, they change the format of the forum and all the links to your images disappear! - Great!

Edit :- To add the scene!

prometheus
12-07-2014, 04:42 AM
Hello guys! :D

The simple reason for the photobucket images, is because the newtek forum software/set-up SUCKS BALLZ!

Most of the time I can't upload an image, in their crappy attachments window, then (if I do manage to upload any thing) It gets presented as a teeny weeny thumbnail.... 100 x 44 !!! - I run a resolution of 2048 x 1152....
Then after about 2 months, they change the format of the forum and all the links to your images disappear! - Great!

Edit :- To add the scene!

You could try picasaweb maybe?
https://plus.google.com/u/0/100944643113557837045/photos/p/pub



https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-b2BFI2PfE9U/UvZ84IU2nXI/AAAAAAAACJs/f7WgXxBtyuU/w1536-h700-no/volumetric%2Bray%2Btest%2Bgodrays%2Bv042.jpg

and you are feeling the same as I do about the teeny weeny size...of thumbnails that is.
thatīs why I after having attached the image, I go to preview post, and right click on the image shown in the preview, and open it in a new window and it will open in the original size, and then I copy that webadress and then go to back to my preview post and click on insert image..and pick from web url and then paste, so that is how I get the large image directly in the post without using any other service.

Michael

djwaterman
12-07-2014, 05:35 AM
If I was to complain about anything it would be the thumbnail, and waiting for that to open. This being a CG forum I want to see images displayed big in posts, which is why in the past I would use photobucket (although I'd have already re-sized the images in Photoshop to be at most 750 pixels wide and I personally can check to see if the relevant information is showing up). Pages with Prometheus's big pics don't take time to load for me, where as the thumbnails do, although if left dormant they also don't slow the page loading. But perhaps for other users in other areas with different bandwidth and so on, they might have issues we never think about. I am certainly going to try that trick some time to put images straight up, unless there is a flood of protests. Perhaps the compromise is to just re-size them a bit so they are smaller but still read-able.

prometheus
12-07-2014, 05:38 AM
If I was to complain about anything it would be the thumbnail, and waiting for that to open. This being a CG forum I want to see images displayed big in posts, which is why in the past I would use photobucket (although I'd have already re-sized the images in Photoshop to be at most 750 pixels wide and I personally can check to see if the relevant information is showing up). Pages with Prometheus's big pics don't take time to load for me, where as the thumbnails do, although if left dormant they also don't slow the page loading. But perhaps for other users in other areas with different bandwidth and so on, they might have issues we never think about. I am certainly going to try that trick some time to put images straight up, unless there is a flood of protests. Perhaps the compromise is to just re-size them a bit so they are smaller but still read-able.

And you express the same feel I have about this too, guess we have to be open about how other feels too of course, there might be other than spherical that feels that way, and exactly, you might re-size them to what is needed.

pinkmouse
12-07-2014, 06:25 AM
I'm with the round one, I hate posts being broken up by huge images - thumbnails all the way.

jkir
12-07-2014, 06:48 AM
Why not just a dropbox and a file itself , not the screenshot?

XswampyX
12-07-2014, 06:51 AM
It's so you do it yourself.... and learn something! :D

jkir
12-07-2014, 07:03 AM
Oh, I found the file. Thank you very much XswampyX .

prometheus
12-07-2014, 08:10 AM
I'm with the round one, I hate posts being broken up by huge images - thumbnails all the way.


Thatīs not fair and square, itīs hip to be square:D

here you go...

125921 or http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=125921&d=1417965010


My apology to the thread starter for going off topic for a while, will try and stop:)

Oedo 808
12-07-2014, 08:35 AM
Thanks XswampyX! :thumbsup:

I appreciate you sharing and don't mind your "Do it your ****ing self" policy :p

But... why you no upload decent resolution in that case, is it a Photobucket limitation?

XswampyX
12-07-2014, 10:20 AM
Do you really want it like this????

From one extreme to another!

What a mess...

125924

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=125924&d=1417972387

but... I didn't realise that it could scale the picture.... never used to. :stumped:

Oedo 808
12-07-2014, 10:40 AM
I don't know what to say, I'll take that over half resolution shot where I can hardly make anything out any day. It's not even a question. :stumped:

Though the last thing I want to seem is unappreciative.

If people would rather see just links, they can change their account not to display the images.

XswampyX
12-07-2014, 10:47 AM
No problem, I will try to do better.... :santa:

Sensei
12-07-2014, 10:47 AM
Do you really want it like this????

Yes. Perfect for me..

prometheus
12-07-2014, 11:11 AM
That looks better XswampyX, and I had no problems loading of the page, your nodes are now fully readable:) and please do skip photobucket and do it this way, or use dropbox or picasaweb maybe?

XswampyX
12-07-2014, 11:24 AM
That looks better XswampyX, and I had no problems loading of the page, your nodes are now fully readable:) and please do skip photobucket and do it this way, or use dropbox or picasaweb maybe?

Yes dad.

jeric_synergy
12-07-2014, 11:47 AM
On uploading pix vs scene files:

FWIW, I don't even know how to force the forum s/w to display a big image, I just ul a pic and figure if people are interested (a minor miracle) they'll click on it-- the forum always gives me a thumbnail.

If xSwampyx, blessed-be-his-name, had a stance that we are better off reconstructing the networks for our own edjumaction, I'm inclined to agree with him-- I always learn more when I'm FORCED to weave the network myself, no matter how much I despair during the process. BUT, TMK he's always attached a scene file if asked. We are lazy buggers.

My only worry then is all the stuff you cannot see from nodal screen grabs, all the internal settings to various nodes, which for a real education requires multiple screen grabs and cutting/pasting all onto one screen, that can be very VERY confusing indeed when they aren't there, and a boatload of work to illustrate.

And once again, HUGE thanks to swampy for coming up with massively clever solutions to our problems.

XswampyX
12-07-2014, 12:26 PM
Thanks jeric_synergy... Most appreciated.

In my defence, that thread is from May 2013 over 18 months ago! :D
If I 'had' posted the images and hosted them on the newtek site, you probably wouldn't be able to see them.

Oedo 808
12-07-2014, 12:47 PM
Always remember, no good deed goes unpunished! ;D

prometheus
12-07-2014, 02:36 PM
Yes dad.

Proud of you son.

spherical
12-08-2014, 12:06 AM
Thanks jeric_synergy... Most appreciated.

In my defence, that thread is from May 2013 over 18 months ago! :D
If I 'had' posted the images and hosted them on the newtek site, you probably wouldn't be able to see them.

I don't get where this is coming from. Posts of mine in the v9.x Beta forums have images uploaded that are there to this day. That's far, far longer ago than you cite above. Further, so what if the thumbs are small? They're big enough to convey the content of the large image. Yes, it would be nice if the thumbs were a bit larger by default. Perhaps SBowie can change a setting.

I've stated this before that, if you use the provided system, the user has more control over what they want to see in the size that they want to see it. As you have done, above, we hit the thumbnail, it loads the full-rez image scaled to fit into the browser window, then we can click on the image and enlarge it to full-rez and see all of the glorious detail and labels clearly. It will take some panning around, but I would much rather have that than straining to make out fuzzy UI text to try to determine what has been done to solve a given problem. Uploading stuff to Photobucket, we click on the enlarge button and get the same image all by itself; not any larger or clearer. You are so good at this stuff, we all want to learn from your next amazing feat. Providing easy to read on-demand resolution is the best way to get your concepts across. That, and posing the scene, so we can look inside all of the nodes; because one just cannot have all of the nodes open all of the time. Thanks for considering.

jkir
12-09-2014, 02:14 PM
125972


Tried to do streaks Modo style. Imo that way they look just a little bit more natural than with ray cast node.

But they come only from concavity corners. Do somebody know a trick to cast them from convexity ones. Basically I need what 's called ctrl_occlusion shader for mental ray, convexity occlusion in Modo or just an old trick of inverting geometry normals during occlusion calculation?