PDA

View Full Version : Video tutorial questions

ernpchan
11-30-2014, 11:20 PM
I'm considering doing my first video tutorial. Can I ask what people like/don't like about tutorials they've watched?

OlaHaldor
12-01-2014, 12:24 AM
Depends on who's the viewer. I'm not a total beginner, but I'm not a pro either, but that doesn't stop me from following an advanced tutorial.

There's tons of videos aiming at the ones who haven't touched anything 3D. I'll say: aim beyond that. Do tutorials that expect the viewer to have some basic knowledge at least. Don't waste time (and download times/space) with 20 minutes of basics like how to navigate the app and so on.

Doing mistakes in the video is fine, but edit them out unless you can figure out a fix while recording. I hate it when I watch a tutorial and I follow everything the tutor does and end up with a big mess, and he doesn't explain what you should or can do to save yourself from doing the same mistake or fix the problem.

Personally I'd like to know more about using Bullet. And with the new possibilities with it I'd like to know more about that as well!
I'd also like to see more use of LWCAD in tutorials. I'm not saying people are stupid if they don't use it, but they're sure missing out of something great. Not everyone use it, but does it hurt to make tutorials with it? Like an arch viz tutorial, everything from model to surface to render. And other ways to use LWCAD as well, not only for arch viz.

That's about all I have early in the morning.

ncr100
12-01-2014, 12:58 AM
Say why to help speed comprehension. Explaining "Why" (why I am doing this thing in the video now) is very often overlooked. Folks just do, which is like a third of the story they could be telling in the video (or text tutorial). Develop a wrote phrase if it helps, "To refine the selection I'll use blablabla...". => "To X I'll Y." It's really important.

Teachers rule, btw.

:)

raw-m
12-01-2014, 02:06 AM
Edit out the chaff!

Danner