PDA

View Full Version : LightWave 3D Demo version?

Jeannie
11-29-2003, 10:17 AM
I've been doing some research on 3D programs for an upcoming project. I am a graphic designer with no official 3D experience, but think that LightWave may be what I need. My problem is that I cannot find a way to download a demo version of LightWave before I actually make the purchase. I have been all over the web sight and have found nothing. I work off a G4, dual processor. Is there such an animal as a demo version and how do I download it. Thanks

WizCraker
11-29-2003, 10:54 AM
ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/misc/LWDE.zip

it includes both the Mac and PC install files plus other stuff.

Jeannie
11-29-2003, 11:25 AM
Thanks VizCraker for the link. I downloaded it, but it won't install. It keeps telling me that I don't have an application to open it. What am i doing wrong? Thanks

WizCraker
11-29-2003, 03:15 PM
It is compressed you need to uncompress it. the format is zip so your computer should have something that can unzip it.

Jeannie
11-29-2003, 08:58 PM
Yes, I know that it's compressed. I unzipped the file and have a folder on my desktop titled LDWE.
Inside that I have a folder for mac-install, but all it contains is documents that cannot be opened. There are no installers for the program. I have downloaded demo versions of other programs before and have never had this problem.
Thanks

Melvil
11-29-2003, 09:45 PM
Hi Jeannie! Welcome!

I just downloaded the file from above and everything seemed to be in order. Everything was there for both the PC and Mac version. The only thing I can think of is that perhaps your download was somehow corrupted...If it's not too much trouble you might try downloading it again. Besides that I don't know. :(

-Dave

Jeannie
11-30-2003, 08:44 AM