PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave idea - Rounder Update



erikals
11-20-2014, 08:56 AM
hey, soon Christmas, remember to buy those presents... :

ok, anything i forgot to mention here ?


http://youtu.be/tY3jolkANKg

alternative rounding on one of the corners >
125579

erikals
11-20-2014, 10:52 AM
if LWG wants some further inspiration they can also look at >


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRkcrdwuUO8

http://erikalstad.com/emoti/Cookie-Monster.png

erikals
11-20-2014, 11:18 AM
and notes from Probiner >

125580

erikals
11-20-2014, 11:33 AM
it'd be nice to update this technique also >


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lIlhRkrKtU

Roundness #2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8QoG-b-IAc
Roundness #3
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yoU9nGupsxg
Roundness #4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkuEd1Z_oqw

Lewis
11-20-2014, 12:25 PM
Yeah all well known issues in LW, sadly no LWG3D news on when or will they do fixes/updates in that area :(.

erikals
11-20-2014, 12:27 PM
think this is the number 1 thing i'd like to see fixed in Modeler, if memory preserves...

$800 us dollar for C4D Prime seems a bit much though for this one feature :/

don't think LWCad can do it though, unfortunately...

jboudreau
11-20-2014, 11:31 PM
think this is the number 1 thing i'd like to see fixed in Modeler, if memory preserves...

$800 us dollar for C4D Prime seems a bit much though for this one feature :/

don't think LWCad can do it though, unfortunately...

Hi erikals

LWCAD can do this stuff, Just use Mass Rounder. It works awesome and you have total control over which edge you want to round, It even has a chamfer option with rounded edges

125588125587125586125585

As for you issue with being able to position the transform tool where you want there is a trick to it that you might not be aware of. You need to hold your ctrl key down on the keyboard (this allows you to slide around and position the transform tool without moving your selection of points. then you can use the arrow handles to postion the trasnfrom exactly where you want it.

Steps to do it:

Right click on the middle line with the transform tool this will snap it to the line
then hold down your ctrl key on your keyboard and click on the arrow heads and drag to slide the transform tool to the position where you wanted instead of making a point
then you can click on the white box of the transform tool and size all your points the way you wanted to

Another option is once you have your point selected click on the point and then use the center pivot tool. Then select your points and choose Action Center Pivot. Now when you go to size your points down it will size from the pivot point. (Tip: where ever you set your pivot to the transform tool will snap to it automatically when ran)

Hope this helps

Thanks
Jason

djwaterman
11-20-2014, 11:56 PM
Who much is LWCad going for these days?

jboudreau
11-21-2014, 12:04 AM
Who much is LWCad going for these days?

Hi djwaterman

LWCAD 4.51 is going for $329 with a free upgrade to version 5.0 when it comes out. It's so worth it even just for the modeling tools :)

http://www.wtools3d.com/newsletter/2014/10/#2

Jason

erikals
11-21-2014, 04:34 AM
LWCAD can do this stuff, Just use Mass Rounder. It works awesome and you have total control over which edge you want to round, It even has a chamfer option with rounded edges
nice! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif thanks, hmm, looks like i seriously have to consider LWCad...


Transform tool >

As for you issue with being able to position the transform tool where you want there is a trick to it that you might not be aware of. You need to hold your ctrl key down on the keyboard (this allows you to slide around and position the transform tool without moving your selection of points. then you can use the arrow handles to position the transform exactly where you want it.

Steps to do it:

Right click on the middle line with the transform tool this will snap it to the line
then hold down your Ctrl key on your keyboard and click on the arrow heads and drag to slide the transform tool to the position where you wanted instead of making a point
then you can click on the white box of the transform tool and size all your points the way you wanted to

Another option is once you have your point selected click on the point and then use the center pivot tool. Then select your points and choose Action Center Pivot. Now when you go to size your points down it will size from the pivot point. (Tip: where ever you set your pivot to the transform tool will snap to it automatically when ran)
thank you, i will have to check this out, i have AHK occupying this function, probably why it slipped through.
need to check, thanks again, great tip http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif


http://forums.newtek.com/images/misc/quote_icon.pngLewis
...sadly no LWG3D news on when or will they do fixes/updates in that area
even though this is long overdue, it might take some time, seeing they are looking for a Modeler Developer... (again)
on the other side, another excuse to get LWCad... \:)

erikals
11-21-2014, 04:58 AM
found some videos on LWCad Mass Rounder, looks good >


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLJPPHrLGD8


second video >
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3eKD3X05_cg

Lewis
11-21-2014, 05:02 AM
even though this is long overdue, it might take some time, seeing they are looking for a Modeler Developer... (again)
on the other side, another excuse to get LWCad... \[SIZE=2]:)

LWCAD can't solve geometry core slowness so although it's great tool it still works on crawling pace/slow on hi-poly due host app slowness.

erikals
11-21-2014, 05:07 AM
yep, LWG needs to fix the speed, they are aware though.
the sooner the better.
i read they are working on some major changes, hope this is one of them...

gerry_g
11-21-2014, 06:58 AM
Also no quick way to select a loop as far as I can see, does not play nicely with native selection methods, needs robust native tool much like Modo has

erikals
11-21-2014, 07:11 AM
i did try to find modo rounding tutorials at youtube, but didn't find any

would you know what it is called in Modo?

------------------

for selecting loops in LightWave you can add a AHK function,
if i recall right you are on a Mac though, can't recall right now what is the equivalent of AHK on Mac,
but it should be fairly straight forward (fairly)

though i too think default loop selecting is a bit slow in LightWave, maybe it works the same way in LWCad,
not quite sure...

Marander
11-21-2014, 08:01 AM
nice! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif thanks, hmm, looks like i seriously have to consider LWCad...

on the other side, another excuse to get LWCad... \:)


Hey Erikals

And after you got it, other LWers have a good reason to get it too because we'll not have to wait too long for nice tutorials from you!

Cheers, Marander


P.S. Very good post from you again! I also would like to see a Rounder update. Rounder and Chamfer are not too stable for me, I always save before using them. Surprisingly the tool Thicken never failed on me.

djwaterman
11-21-2014, 08:16 AM
With the Transform tool, you don't even need to hold down control key to move it's position, just right mouse button on the arrow heads (or rotate thingies) and drag. It's a great tool for so many things when it's working.

jboudreau
11-21-2014, 08:45 AM
Also no quick way to select a loop as far as I can see, does not play nicely with native selection methods, needs robust native tool much like Modo has


Hi

Are you referring to LWCAD or Lightwave itself?

In Lightwave itself all you need to do is select a edge and click the right arrow key. Super fast loop selection. This can be done with points and polygons except you have to select 2 points or polygons

Tip 1: once you have a selection you can use the up and down arrow keys to move to the next or previous loop or selection of some polygons/edges/points.
Tip 2: With a loop selected or just some polygons/points/edges If you hold your ctrl key down and hit your right arrow key it will select all the neighbouring loops or polygons/edges/points.
TIP 3: Holding the alt key and pressing the arrow keys with a selected loop or just some polygons/points/edges allows you to move the selection with your cursor keys

You can also use the edit edges tool for selecting, moving deleting and adding new loops

Thanks,
Jason

jboudreau
11-21-2014, 08:58 AM
With the Transform tool, you don't even need to hold down control key to move it's position, just right mouse button on the arrow heads (or rotate thingies) and drag. It's a great tool for so many things when it's working.

Hi djwaterman

Yes I saw that in the help text (use your right mouse button) on the top of the screen after I posted. The transform tool is very powerful

Thanks
Jason

Snosrap
11-21-2014, 10:42 PM
Hey erikals, is that RT Smooth native to LW? If not where did you get it? -- Thanks

gerry_g
11-22-2014, 03:09 AM
By a bunch of people you might have heard of http://www2.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins

Snosrap
11-22-2014, 08:32 AM
Thanks - it must be in one of his bundles.

erikals
11-22-2014, 12:12 PM
sorry for late reply, no this one is actually from Tama,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vz_T2eQsoek
http://www.erikalstad.com/Thank_You_Tama

erikals
11-22-2014, 07:48 PM
alright, heard from a bird LightWave 12 is out soon, around this Christmas,
let's see if there are any improvements on this front... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?144525-Lightwave-12-is-on-the-way

http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/icon_biggrin.gif

Snosrap
11-22-2014, 08:16 PM
Thanks erikals!

erikals
11-23-2014, 02:49 AM
also hope to see this technique improved >


http://youtu.be/PcE5bYo4InM

erikals
02-04-2015, 05:26 AM
found info from this thread >
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?145421-LWCAD-Select-edge-loop-and-THEN-mass-round


I had sent in a support email at the LWCAD website.
Viktor Velicko of W-Tools replied that "Mass Round is replaced with completely new version in LWCAD 5"

anyone have more info on that... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/king.gifhttp://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/question.gif

Andy Webb
02-04-2015, 05:53 AM
found info from this thread >
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?145421-LWCAD-Select-edge-loop-and-THEN-mass-round

anyone have more info on that... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/king.gifhttp://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/question.gif


Would be nice to know how far off LWCAD 5 is?

erikals
04-11-2015, 05:09 PM
Would be nice to know how far off LWCAD 5 is?

should be close, as LWcad was annouced over a year ago...


Modo btw is including Mesh Fusion into Modo 901...
http://www.cgchannel.com/2015/04/the-foundry-unveils-modo-901

Modo fast rounding - check
C4D fast rounding - check
LightWave fast rounding - not just yet...

erikals
11-10-2015, 06:34 PM
just a follow up, cleaning topology... >


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quWKCLc1fss

Snosrap
11-10-2015, 07:44 PM
Hey erikals, it's been well over a year for this thread and you still haven't bought LWCad?!! What's wrong with you! :) :)

DrStrik9
11-10-2015, 10:43 PM
This is better than the Sunday comics.

erikals
11-10-2015, 11:31 PM
no... this is.... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif >

round 2.... ...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hScrVAquaG4&feature=youtu.be


Snosrap, looking into LWcad for sure, but C4D is better for rounding. Magic. but $800... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/question.gif
LWcad5 is a bit buggy atm, and haven't seen LWcad Rounder in heavy action...

erikals
11-11-2015, 03:14 AM
but the process wasn't done...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_juwYSNqBmA

Snosrap
11-11-2015, 09:57 AM
erikals, you get the all-time number one stick-to-itiveness award! :)

DrStrik9
11-11-2015, 11:28 AM
Erikals, that is quite impressive, being simple and quick. Unfortunately, quad skin patcher is PC only, so as far as I can tell, your Rounder Cleanup #2 is the (slower) way for Mac users.

erikals
11-11-2015, 12:10 PM
hi,
you might be thinking of "Quad Skin"

"Quad Skin Patcher" however is a script that runs on both PC/Mac http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif
http://thespread.faulknermano.com/index2.html

gerry_g
11-11-2015, 12:23 PM
I don't get it, here is a Rounder solution that is Rounder only with no post fix, every tool has limitations but you know the limitations and you plan for them up front not fix them after the event, that's what makes you a good modeller or did I miss something

erikals
11-11-2015, 12:59 PM
you are a good modeller

the example is based on the first video however, and aims at rounding 40+ edges in one go.

thereby the challenge.

rounding in steps, agree, quite doable.

Snosrap
11-11-2015, 07:44 PM
hi,
you might be thinking of "Quad Skin"

"Quad Skin Patcher" however is a script that runs on both PC/Mac http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif
http://thespread.faulknermano.com/index2.html

I find it interesting how "Quad Skin Patcher" works. You can actually recreate it manually using curves and patching.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=raSVAPSioJw&feature=youtu.be

erikals
11-12-2015, 03:02 AM
yes http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

you might also be able to delete the last part of the script to make only the patches http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/047.gif

erikals
11-13-2015, 06:08 AM
Rounder ReCap


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0x_iN36PlvI

tcoursey
11-13-2015, 08:09 AM
I didn't read through this entire thread so forgive me if it's been mentioned...but the ROUNDING technique in LWCAD5 is amazing! Does what I would expect when I select edges etc... It's great!

gerry_g
11-13-2015, 08:43 AM
I am having trouble with concave edges and going round convex corners in LWCad 5 ATM, besides which there is no Mass Rounder just Rounder now unless I have installed the menus wrong, and thank you for the new video Erikals see what you can manage with just a little practice, yes the tool is more crap than most but for nube's to which that rather than the "see look it's totally broken" one is far more positive, anyone can produce a video in which you do something with a tool that is unrealistic for it to do and then declaring it's broken

Andy Webb
11-13-2015, 08:47 AM
Given the amount of time expended on the rounder subject by a lot of people, I can't believe LW3DG have not put any effort into solving this in the 11 or 2015 cycles.

Oedo 808
11-13-2015, 09:33 AM
I am having trouble with concave edges and going round convex corners in LWCad 5 ATM, besides which there is no Mass Rounder just Rounder now unless I have installed the menus wrong

With Round you can use Ctrl+LMB to select everything, sorry if that turns out to be patronizing because you meant something else.

Kryslin
11-13-2015, 10:18 AM
Given the amount of time expended on the rounder subject by a lot of people, I can't believe LW3DG have not put any effort into solving this in the 11 or 2015 cycles.

They have - they even called the author back, to see if something could be done. For whatever reason, it can't be fixed, only re-written or worked around.

erikals
11-13-2015, 10:52 AM
for those in doubt > Rounder is broken.

...don't nitpick definitions.