PDA

View Full Version : Genoma Rig complexity

Willax
11-11-2014, 10:45 AM
I know Newtek is doing a great job in making animating simpler and feature filled for all, but the Genoma rig setup has me stymied. Most of my character animation (I'm just a hobbyist) is fairly simple. The problem I'm having with Genoma, even after watching all the tutorials available is, I don't need 300 bones in my characters, with cryptic names that I don't understand. And to sort through all the bones to try and figure out which is which is a nightmare. In reality, I probably only need about 20 to 25 bones in my characters to do what I need to. Is there an easier way to get some of the genoma features without all the bones? I have tried to assemble my own rig (I'm sure I'm doing something wrong), but when I do, I get either an error message about one polygon or the bones don't work. Just a quick example, when trying to learn the system, I created a simple tube, added a genoma arm rig, and it created 10 bones., and when I try to move some of the bones, which I thought were ik, others stay put. This simple two bone (genoma) rig created 10 bones and 40 objects (ik controllers, goals, etc.) And this is supposed to be a simple arm bending at the elbow. If you have any suggestions or can direct me to some tutorials to help that would be great. Oh, and I do own Rigging Revealed, and have watched Top of 33 Multimedia on YouTube, but I'm still in the dark. Just having problems grasping the concepts, bones, goals, controllers, etc.

ernpchan
11-11-2014, 10:50 AM
You could build a rig out of the individual parts. I'm not sure you'll see that much of a reduction in bones though since everything is pre-built. Ideally you shouldn't need to deal with the bones after you setup your weights. You want to just animate the control objects.

RebelHill
11-11-2014, 11:12 AM