PDA

View Full Version : ...can only buy 9800 ati card...any good?



Boo!
11-28-2003, 09:26 AM
...hi
just got to a resller that told the Nvidia has been discontinued leavin me with me to buy the 9800 ati card(256mb). when i spoike to a rep from Nvidia she said that there was another card, Geforce FX 5950 which is far better than the Geforce 4Ti(128mb) but Apple wont sell it???????!!!...:confused:

anywayz, are there still probs with 9800 cards in Jaguar OSX runnin LW 7.5???...
or should i just save my pennies, wait buy a G5 for cheaper price...
see http://www.appleinsider.com/
and make do with my 867?...
really i just want to get on some decent work in LW with a nice card inside...

any help would be nice thanks......:confused: :confused: :( :( :confused:

Chazz
11-28-2003, 11:27 AM
Did she say the 5950 works in G4/G5 machines?

I've always had better luck with Nvidia cards in my computers...ATI seems to have dodgy drivers.

Boo!
11-28-2003, 12:04 PM
...now thats the crazy thing!
if you go to the site you'll see the card listed under the Mac list. she explained that the card is ment for the Mac G4/G5 but funny things will happen to your machine if you do. something to do with Apple not puttin it in and doin their magic thing so we can use it. oh and Apple dont want customers to have it in unless thay put it in. which when i spoke to thei rep she said they dont intend to:confused: ...

how crazy is that!

she said they only make the chips Apple do the rest. sooooooooooooo you'll have to ring them. when i did they said the highest spec is the Geforce 4 Ti 128mb....

sooooo thats why i asked is th 9800 any good but i guess by the response the answer is leanin towards no...

ingo
11-28-2003, 12:12 PM
Well i always try to avoid NVidia cards because of their weird drivers (like now in my G5 1.8), and the ATI cards made no problems so far over the years in several Macs. So i can only recommend them, my friend with a dual G5 is very happy with the ATI, maybe i get a 9600 soon to replace the crappy NVidia.

just my two cents

ingo

noiseboy
11-28-2003, 12:13 PM
as far as I know the best Nvidia card for a pre G5 machine is a GeforceTi. This card will not physically fit a G5, I know I have one..
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=14096

As for G5 cards at the moment the ATI 9800 is your best bet (not that there is much choice anyway..) I would wait for retail cards for the G5 to emerge.

Chazz
11-28-2003, 12:25 PM
The 9600 I have in my G5 is okay...but there are bugs in the drivers that manifest themselves in Lightwave. See the threads around here about transparency bugs... in previous G4's I had trouble with Radeons in Modeler that made the program really hard to work with.

I changed out two ATI cards for a Geforce 2MX and 3 and have been really happy with them. The DPG5 I bought recently didn't have the option for one of the Geforce FX cards, so I'd be interested if they did make one.

mlinde
11-28-2003, 07:48 PM
Originally posted by mfessenden
I changed out two ATI cards for a Geforce 2MX and 3 and have been really happy with them. The DPG5 I bought recently didn't have the option for one of the Geforce FX cards, so I'd be interested if they did make one.
I'm not recommending this, but mentioning it. You can go through an apple authorized repair site (but not an apple store) to purchase the one available GeForce FX 5200 for the G5 PowerMac. It costs about $100. It's a repair part :rolleyes:

Chazz
11-30-2003, 01:58 PM
Thanks for the tip...I think I'd be looking for a 5900 or better (maybe even Quadro) in a Mac version.

We'll see what January brings...

Beamtracer
11-30-2003, 02:32 PM
I've got an ATI9800pro running on a G5. Very happy with it so far.

turbo
12-01-2003, 09:31 AM
Still waiting for a quality bigger card for my DP G5....
... just keeping the 9600 in it until then,..

obviously not good enough for it(G5) or me.. but I won't buy the 9800 after 8 months of LW downtime with the 8500 on my DP G4.

Chazz
12-01-2003, 09:43 AM
Just out of curiosity...what is it you do in Lightwave that the 9600 isn't good enough for?

noiseboy
12-01-2003, 10:06 AM
I think Turbo is waiting for the mythical 3dlabs Wildcat card ;)

turbo
12-01-2003, 10:26 AM
I am a hardcore gamer/game developer. I want bigger/faster/better. Something that doesn't lose the textures during testing and game play.
And face it. The sleek and powerful DP G5 is a dream worthy of better than a little 64 meg card. There are a lot bigger ones out there. :D

Ade
12-01-2003, 05:13 PM
Trouble is macs only have these so called "gaming cards"... they suck for 3d CAD.

We need wildcat series, or lesser quadro series.


Guys will I see any difference in screen refresh rate if I move from a 9000 card to 9800 card? or any card with 128 vram?

toby
12-01-2003, 11:31 PM
I have an interesting new perspective, I just left one job where the workstation had a Quadro 850, and started another job and was told the card was 'pretty good' - since the Quadro handled 200K polygons in near-realtime, I cranked up the poly-count and the bounding box threshold to 200K, and it worked just as well as the Quadro - that's when he told me it was an ATI 9700 - and it was also running two monitors instead of one.

Turbo - could you try 200K ploygons with your G5? I'd like to know how much it can handle - I'm planning on getting one next year.

Don't think that I've forgotten about ATI's behaviour tho.

turbo
12-02-2003, 10:00 AM
I created a sphere and tried several things with it.
- bevels, subdivisions etc.. then rotated in wireframe shade/perspective view in modeler.

In all cases it started to get choppy around 25k, then really slow around 100k and the old rainbow beachball around just under 200k.

Now is it the DP G5 2 GHZ or the ATI 9600 within.. You can guess what I think, lol.

But again.. I am no authority on high poly..:p

pdrake
12-02-2003, 12:44 PM
i get real time with about 150k on my g5.

toby
12-02-2003, 10:34 PM
I should have metioned that I was in Layout - I don't know how it compares to Modeler - I did some different tests today and it's closer to 150K too. Still usable at 200K which is about 8 times more polys than my GF2. Probably fast enough for me without a pro card -

strongarm27
12-03-2003, 02:06 PM
I have been working on levels for unreal
tournament 2003. I do all my modeling and
texturing on my mac and then slide it over
to the pc for assembly. I was just curious what
game engine you are working on. I only know
of one ported to the mac(garage games). Just
Interested since these boards don't seem to have
many level designers on them. by the way just
got microwave for the mac. It works great for
game content. It works the way surface baker
should work.

strongarm27

Chazz
12-03-2003, 02:20 PM
My dual G5/9600 can do about 200k scenes pretty smoothly at 1280x1024.

I have heard that the Geforce 5900 and 5950 (128m & 256m) will work in the Macintosh, but it's just a rumor.

turbo
12-03-2003, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by strongarm27
I have been working on levels for unreal
tournament 2003. I do all my modeling and
texturing on my mac and then slide it over
to the pc for assembly. I was just curious what
game engine you are working on. I only know
of one ported to the mac(garage games). Just
Interested since these boards don't seem to have
many level designers on them. by the way just
got microwave for the mac. It works great for
game content. It works the way surface baker
should work.

strongarm27
Correct. We are using the Torque Engine. (for our own game.. and modifying it to suit our own purposes) :D

Boo!
12-03-2003, 04:13 PM
...to Mfessenden

dude it aint just a rumor, they were designed with our machines in mind but because Apple are carryin on funny they dont want to sort it out. like i said, the rep from Nvidia told that me that if you put it in your machine will go funny and weird.

so since Apple dont wanna stop actin up then we dont get.
...sigh...:(

toby
12-03-2003, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by mfessenden
My dual G5/9600 can do about 200k scenes pretty smoothly at 1280x1024.


cool, thanks for chiming in - by the time I get a g5 it may have an even better card - no need to buy a pro card, I'll spend the money on a render node or G2 :)

Chazz
12-04-2003, 07:40 AM
Working in Layout is great on the G5...very smooth even in high-poly scenes...smooth as any PC I've used anyway.

From experience, OpenGL-based programs seem to work better with NVIDIA cards (better drivers.) I wouldn't know about games though...I have a Gamecube for that :)

toby
12-04-2003, 10:09 PM
Originally posted by mfessenden
...smooth as any PC I've used anyway.

hopefully better than that... I'm finding LW to be no more stable on PC than on Mac (new job) - PC people are more tolerant and dismissive of crashes so it makes sense to me