PDA

View Full Version : Real Noob

amirispop
11-27-2003, 01:32 PM
:confused:

I can't render a bookshelf I made because in modeler The shelves look trasparent. I didn't do anything to that property so I don't know why it is transparent. I tried messing with the lights, changing them, etc...Tried changing the color of the surface...didn't work.

Since I am fairly new to 3d modeling and use LW7.5 I thought that I could find some assistance here.

Thanks in advance.

Screenshot of modeler is attached.

WizCraker
11-27-2003, 01:41 PM
The polys for the shelfs are facing the wrong direction. You need to select them and press f to flip the normals so when you render it shows up correctly.

amirispop
11-27-2003, 01:57 PM
Should I select the whole bookcase or just the shelves?

thanks

WizCraker
11-27-2003, 02:11 PM
If you select the offending polygons you will notice a yellow line in the viewport windows if it is facing inword towards the object it is fliped the wrong way. Notice attachment below

amirispop
11-27-2003, 02:21 PM
All the lines on the actual shelves are facing inwards...

how do i keep from that happening initially? does it have something to do with the order that I place the points? or the direction that I extrude it?

amirispop
11-27-2003, 03:01 PM
For your input. I saw the lines facing inward when I selected the polygons before I tried to render it the first time but I dind't know the significance. I did read something about it when I was reading the help file but didn't remember. Now that I was able to apply the knowledge, I'm sure I won't forget that again.

Thanks alot. Here is semi finished product.

Now for texturing......:rolleyes:

WizCraker
11-27-2003, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by amirispop
how do i keep from that happening initially? does it have something to do with the order that I place the points? or the direction that I extrude it?