PDA

View Full Version : Point lights can't be seen

RobertS
11-27-2003, 11:47 AM
I'm new to lightwave and when I add Point lights to a scene they can't be seen. You can see the effect of the light on other objects but not the light its self. Can anyone straighten me out.

Thanks

toby
11-27-2003, 04:35 PM
None of the lights are made to be visible, by default. You need to add a lens flare under Light Properties.

hrgiger
11-27-2003, 10:17 PM
RTFM

knuckles644
11-27-2003, 11:47 PM
I'm guessing RTFM stands for "read the ****ing manual":)

RobertS
11-28-2003, 01:35 AM
However obvious that may sound, I have read the manual and bought an extra just for kicks. Maybe I should be more descriptive. If I have a point light that is visible and make two clones of it, one will be visible and one will not. If I remove the one that is not visible, the one that was previously visible becomes invisible. If I add a light sometimes I can make it visible and sometimes I can't. I assumed there was a problem with the program and possible a patch for it. However I can't find that anyone else is having the same problem. Am I doing something wrong or is there a bug.

thanks again.

ingo
11-28-2003, 01:41 AM
Its still not clear what youre at. When you add a light it is by default invisible, so how do you make it visible ?

toby
11-28-2003, 01:45 AM
Do you mean visible in the viewport or in the rendered image? Check Display options for OpenGL Lights and make sure it's high enough

colkai
11-28-2003, 05:47 AM
Put a simple scene together with a ball and the lights setup you are having problems with, one with 2 lights and 1 with 1.
Zip 'em up and attach 'em here - I'm sure folks could then assist much better.

To re-iterate, are they 'invisible' in as much as no 'light source' shows on the render, (LW requires the light to have a lens flare for this). Or are they invisible in OGL mode, i.e. they disappear from the layout view, not the render.