PDA

View Full Version : Snap to Vertex, Layout - Easy way ?



erikals
10-02-2014, 09:02 AM
hi, is there a fast and easy way to snap a null to a vertex in Layout ?

RayCast maybe ?


http://youtu.be/WmK2lf1kNw4

ernpchan
10-02-2014, 10:25 AM
I know you can attach an item to a vertex with DP. A crude workaround would be to make a skelegon. That would only work with static geo though.

erikals
10-02-2014, 11:01 AM
vertex with DP
yes, and it's great, but in this case i'd like to do it in a "snap" http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/047.gif


A crude workaround would be to make a skelegon.
yep, or a powergon that creates a null, but i'd like to do it in Layout.

did get a reply from FogBugz, the suggestion was sent to team for evaluation, hopefully we'll see this soon.

Sensei
10-02-2014, 12:03 PM
Maybe try Nearest Point node.

Null position -> Nearest Point -> if distance less than some threshold -> change position, otherwise leave alone.

erikals
10-02-2014, 01:00 PM
could be, i'll have to get more into nodes first

still, it would be a bit time-consuming, as i'd have to do it for each null...

many nulls = many minutes
maybe it could be improved by using / combining it with AHK...

btw, anyone knows if there is way to save displacement presets ? ...afaik > no (?)
fastest way would be to load previously saved nodes i guess...

jeric_synergy
10-02-2014, 01:04 PM
yes, and it's great, but in this case i'd like to do it in a "snap" http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/047.gif

What do you mean here, exactly? Please describe the workflow you are envisioning.

I'd probably use POINT INFO to move the null sequentially thru the points, either scrubbing the value index if that works, or animating the value and finding when it goes to the point I want.

If you want to have a UI interactive thing, no clue here. If NEAREST POINT works interactively, I guess that'd work, but I suspect it may not, and only work on a 'real' motion path.

I'm bet Swampy could do something, since he's a wizard.

jeric_synergy
10-02-2014, 01:09 PM
could be, i'll have to get more into nodes first
Pretty sure RH covers this in one of the first NODAL TUTORIAL series, available free ( gnash! ) on YouTube.

And it's possible that Chazriker's recent additions to the RR_ProTools (or whatev) would facilitate applying the displacement multiple times.

If you need many nodes having the same complex requirements, do one, then clone like heck. Or brush up on Indexing.

erikals
10-02-2014, 01:14 PM
think i (or rather, Gerardo) found the way, just modify this one slightly >
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?71751-Extra-Buffer-nodes&p=1332717&viewfull=1#post1332717


If you need many nodes having the same complex requirements, do one, then clone like heck. Or brush up on Indexing.
actually, didn't think of that, that's actually a good way to go http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

but hopefully we'll have easy-fast snapping to vertices in Layout soon
i'm sure Maya / xSI has no problem doing this

jeric_synergy
10-02-2014, 01:26 PM
Someone did something about putting buttons on shirts, hard objects on soft objects...

EDIT: here's my way of just iterating thru the points until it gets to the one I want. Ugly, hackish, but gets there:

124643

prometheus
10-02-2014, 04:18 PM
btw, anyone knows if there is way to save displacement presets ? ...afaik > no (?)
fastest way would be to load previously saved nodes i guess...


Well..if you use the surface editor and nodes and plug the fractals in to the displacement input in the surface texture node, you could simply save the surface as a preset, do a couple of others and save, so once you just
open the surface preset and choose, it will change displacement depending on previously saved, however ..the strenght is controlled by use bump in the displacement tab.

jeric_synergy
10-03-2014, 12:08 PM
If you have RH's Nodal series, the ALIGN_TO.MOV shows the technique I mentioned.

erikals
10-03-2014, 08:15 PM
cool, yeah, did something similar with DPont node item motion
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEzAX1yQxNI

but snapping directly is what i was looking for, so closest bet right now is Gerardo's tip, then clone nulls

Castius
10-06-2014, 09:26 PM
You can alwasy use stickySurface

https://www.lightwave3d.com/learn/article/layout-introduction-to-sticky-and-sticky-surface/

I wonder if you could make a quick python to add a remove those modified to do it faster.

jeric_synergy
10-06-2014, 10:21 PM
But, stickySurface isn't vertex oriented, is it?

jeric_synergy
10-06-2014, 10:31 PM
But, stickySurface isn't vertex oriented, is it?

Castius
10-07-2014, 11:08 AM
No it's surface based.
If i had to do it for a certain vertex i would use the softFX editFX trick to generate a null for the vertex.

jeric_synergy
10-07-2014, 06:49 PM
I'm pretty sure erikals wants a Modeler-esque 'snap to vertex' operation, although that's a big subject: snap a VERTEX to a VERTEX? A poly? A line? The pivot?