PDA

View Full Version : LightWave and 4K 40'' TV?



MarcusM
09-18-2014, 07:18 AM
Do someone tried work on 4K 40" TV? I Am curious is this set up would be good for Modeler :)

erikals
09-18-2014, 08:49 AM
remember 4K is 3840 x 2160

my Modeler right now is 1600x1200 and the buttons are slightly small >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-1600x1200.png

in 3840 x 2160 Modeler would look like this >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-4K.png

Danner
09-18-2014, 10:49 AM
Never thought I say this about monitor resolution and size. But you can have too much of it.

3DGFXStudios
09-18-2014, 10:54 AM
I would like to see this, cool idea. However I think it's not the best idea to use a TV as a computer monitor.

Markc
09-18-2014, 11:43 AM
This is probably why the 27" and 28" 4K monitors are so cheap (~400 gbp) :)
My monitors are 24" at 1920x1200, so the 27 or 28 inch models (not much bigger) would be ridiculously small icons/text as erikals pointed out.
IMHO, at present I think a 4K display is only useful if your editing 4K footage and need a full size preview monitor.

m.d.
09-18-2014, 12:10 PM
alot of 4k monitors (UHD) are only 24/25 hz at 4k....a lot of bandwidth over HDMI

be a terrible computer monitor...good for video however.

Look for at least a 60hz capable monitor

Mr_Q
09-18-2014, 02:00 PM
If you opt for a hiDPI mode on a 4k it would look great. Run a 1920x1080 screen on it. Win8 supports HiDPI, OSX has for a while (Retina) of course LIGHTWAVE doesn't. So the fonts and gadgets are steppy-looking.

MarcusM
09-18-2014, 02:41 PM
remember 4K is 3840 x 2160

my Modeler right now is 1600x1200 and the buttons are slightly small >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-1600x1200.png

in 3840 x 2160 Modeler would look like this >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-4K.png

I like this :)
On 40-inch screen icons would be the same as on 20 ich screen.

I asked because this electronics getting cheaper. I would like to see this set up with LW on desk.

Imageshoppe
09-18-2014, 06:48 PM
I use a 50" Seiki 3840 by 2160 for my main computer screen. I personally hate dual monitors. Love it. It's only a couple feet away so it's a rather IMAX like experience.

Regards,

erikals
09-18-2014, 07:54 PM
have a photo ? http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/047.gif http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

Imageshoppe
09-18-2014, 08:21 PM
124366

have a photo ? http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/047.gif http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

Sure, back from when I first put it in back in May of 2013... my decade old HP "abuser bond" is still attached at this point (but not for long!). That's a full 2K wide preview window open in AE with plenty of working room for layers. Same goes for LW, DF, and Modo and my NLE's... very immersive experience.

jasonwestmas
09-18-2014, 08:47 PM
remember 4K is 3840 x 2160

my Modeler right now is 1600x1200 and the buttons are slightly small >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-1600x1200.png

in 3840 x 2160 Modeler would look like this >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-4K.png

hahaha, that's funny!

erikals
09-18-2014, 08:56 PM
http://forums.newtek.com/images/misc/quote_icon.pngjasonwestmas
hahaha, that's funny!
http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif
in Firefox, open Modeler-4K.png, press F11

now press Ctrl- or Ctrl+

zoom untill it fills the screen, you now see what LW 4K looks like :]


on my screen that makes a Modeler button 7 pixels high... :

erikals
09-18-2014, 09:00 PM
@ Imageshoppe

-dang, just as i though, very small buttons...

looks cool, can't deny that... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/king.gif

Imageshoppe
09-18-2014, 10:23 PM
@ Imageshoppe

-dang, just as i though, very small buttons...

looks cool, can't deny that... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/king.gif

Here's a screen grab from my work minutes ago...
124375
On paper it might seem too much, but there simply is no issue with a 50" screen arms length from your face... there's no text too small on my screen. I would have ditched this puppy in a heartbeat if I had to strain to view. You simply have a massive, detailed working canvas, who wouldn't want that?. In fact, I'd argue that it's BETTER for you... I actually look around when working... over, down, move my head in, pull back, etc...

There is one downside... it makes any source material that isn't first rate look terrible... when I go full screen with YouTube I roll back in the chair a good five feet to watch... :) Not all 1080p is equal, and these UHD displays make that very apparent. Still, I take my 4K source material full screen using Cineform as the playback codec, and think... wow.

spherical
09-18-2014, 11:03 PM
http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif
in Firefox, open Modeler-4K.png, press F11

now press Ctrl- or Ctrl+

zoom untill it fills the screen, you now see what LW 4K looks like :]

on my screen that makes a Modeler button 7 pixels high... :

That puts a 3840x2160 image on a 1920x1080 screen that, for most of us, is only 24" or 27"; not 50". Of course they're going to be small when they're half-size. I'm not seeing your mockup as being an apples and apples test. A 3840x2160 screen is 4X the area of a 1920x1080. Zoom until only 1/4 of that image is on the screen and pan around (because your 4K viewport isn't large enough to display the whole thing all at once) and you see how large things are. For me, it's Ctrl+ 6 times; which brings the UI back to what you see with LightWave maximized on a 24"-27" monitor. Unless I'm really missing something....

erikals
09-18-2014, 11:21 PM
I'm not seeing your mockup as being an apples and apples

of course not... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

------------------------------------------------------

@ Imageshoppe

actually recall working on a "50 earlier, HD though, and agree, in many ways it was nice

small buttons though, agh, can't take 'em... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/047.gif

spherical
09-19-2014, 12:34 AM
of course not... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

Ummm... you're not grokking it.

erikals
09-19-2014, 12:56 AM
oooo-k

MarcusM
09-19-2014, 03:14 AM
Here's a screen grab from my work minutes ago...
124375
On paper it might seem too much, but there simply is no issue with a 50" screen arms length from your face... there's no text too small on my screen. I would have ditched this puppy in a heartbeat if I had to strain to view. You simply have a massive, detailed working canvas, who wouldn't want that?. In fact, I'd argue that it's BETTER for you... I actually look around when working... over, down, move my head in, pull back, etc...

There is one downside... it makes any source material that isn't first rate look terrible... when I go full screen with YouTube I roll back in the chair a good five feet to watch... :) Not all 1080p is equal, and these UHD displays make that very apparent. Still, I take my 4K source material full screen using Cineform as the playback codec, and think... wow.


Can I ask you for print screen from Modeler with dense mesh object?

You have hdmi connected i think? No problems with graphic card settings?

Lightwolf
09-19-2014, 05:25 AM
alot of 4k monitors (UHD) are only 24/25 hz at 4k....a lot of bandwidth over HDMI
Up to 30Hz (HDMI 1.4) - but even that really isn't enough to work smoothly.

Look for at least a 60hz capable monitor
Absolutely - however, the main problem here is HDMI. You need DP, and that's only available on proper displays as opposed to TVs.

HDMI 2.0 would help... but that's only available in select TVs (if at all) and only the newest GPUs as well.

Cheers,
Mike

Imageshoppe
09-19-2014, 06:53 PM
124398124399


Can I ask you for print screen from Modeler with dense mesh object?

You have hdmi connected i think? No problems with graphic card settings?

Here's both Modeler and Layout opened all the way (well, I leave room on the side of Modeler for floating menus and in truth I work at various sizes in Layout depending on the task... big for animation, small for VPR renders...

The first generation of inexpensive UHD sets by Seiki are pretty flakey with HDMI straight from your video card. They occasionally will drop and regain signal. So I went to my DisplayPort out on the video card to HDMI on the set via an adapter and never another problem.

Today's UHD sets are almost all capable of displaying at 60 hertz... mine is limited to 30 hertz. I find it only an issue for video playback. For that my second monitor is set to my Odyssey 7Q 7" OLED... for better motion evaluation of video and color accuracy.

Regards...

BokadCastle
01-13-2015, 07:41 PM
remember 4K is 3840 x 2160

my Modeler right now is 1600x1200 and the buttons are slightly small >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-1600x1200.png

in 3840 x 2160 Modeler would look like this >
http://www.erikalstad.com/backup/Modeler-4K.png

My main monitor died over the holidays.
It was a ViewSonic VX2835WM, 28" with native resolution of 1920x1200 - so it was a good monitor when I bought it at least 3 years ago.
I want to replace it with UHD or WQHD.

I was a bit worried by comments re the small LW button sizes at Ult hi-res.

However, button sizes and button text can be controlled external to LW - ie by Windows.
If you go to > Control Panel\Appearance and Personalization\Display\Screen Resolution > "Make text and other items larger or smaller" > "Set custom text size (DPI) - the buttons and text in LW can be increased up to 200%.

I don't want to shell out and find I can't use LW, so I thought I'd check here first.

MonroePoteet
01-14-2015, 07:39 AM
As an "old fogey" whose eyes are slowly going bad, I've just upgraded my monitor to a 48" 1980x1080 (HDTV) monitor, and researched this fairly well. The 4K TVs won't help with the high density interfaces I use (LW, SpeedEdit, and others). The objective for me was to get the buttons and text bigger without pixelating, not more real estate.

There are a variety of resources for using an HDTV as a monitor. Specifically, look for the "lag" between the input and the display, and something that's big enough, but not so big as to look pixelated.

Here are a couple of articles giving good criteria for choosing a "gaming" (i.e. PC) monitor HDTV:


http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/input-lag
http://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/how-to-buy-the-best-hdtv-for-your-pc/

and here's the website with the delay / response database:


http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/

which has a long list of HDTVs and their lag.

The HDTV (not ultra-HD) allows me to set up the resolution to 1980x1080, and that's as high as it goes. The 48" TV I bought is perhaps a little big, but the pixelation is unnoticable. There are 2 screen pixels per millimeter, it's in the corner of my office, and my eyes are about 1 meter away from it, so I don't see the individual pixels at all. Here's the one I bought (no, I don't work for Sony, but it's superb):


Sony BRAVIA 4834 Class 475834 Diag LED 1080p 60Hz Smart HDTV MODEL: KDL48W600B

which cost about $600US, and has a "Graphics Mode" to disable the advanced image processing which reduces or elimnates the lag. I use my old 25" monitor as a dual-head for LW and SpeedEdit, which works great.

mTp

Lightwolf
01-14-2015, 07:48 AM
However, button sizes and button text can be controlled external to LW - ie by Windows.
But is only used if the application supports it, LW doesn't. Actually, afaik the only 3D package that does is Blender (and it does so beautifully).

Having said that, I'm running a 4K 31" (lg 31MU97) at native resolution, and it's fine - if you sit straight that is. ;)

Cheers,
Mike

Whelkn
01-14-2015, 03:26 PM
Juat got a 50 inch 4k monitor. It runs at 60htz and lightwave works great. the interface looks jsut liek it does on my hd monitor just bigger :-)

ianr
01-15-2015, 10:35 AM
Interesting Thread,
Just found this, it may be of some interest?

hXXp://www.geeks3d.com/20150112/msi-gtx-970-lg-uhd-tv-60hz-444-finally-it-works/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+TheGeeksOf3d+%28The+Geeks+Of+ 3D%29

( GTX970 + screen with Hdmi 2.O )