PDA

View Full Version : 1 Texture for all intances



lesdogs
09-03-2014, 03:19 AM
Hello,

I am trying to map 1 texture to ALL instances.
So for example:
- You have a plane with a picture / photo mapped to it.
- you use a cube instancing object.
- But want to map the complete foto mapped to the top of all the instanced cubes.

A bit hard to explain, hope anyone gets what I mean.

I am trying to do this:

http://leegriggs.wordpress.com/2014/06/28/xgen-color/

Mapping the heights according to a reference image is simple, but I can't figure out to map the colours.

Every4thPixel
09-03-2014, 03:42 AM
You can do that with the replace spot node. Connect the world spot to the object spot and you're done.

How did you map the input color to the hight? There are several ways to do that. Just curious which one you used ;)

lesdogs
09-03-2014, 04:42 AM
I can't find the node 'Replace Spot', Am I missing something?



You can do that with the replace spot node. Connect the world spot to the object spot and you're done.

How did you map the input color to the hight? There are several ways to do that. Just curious which one you used ;)

in my case
I connected the Luma from a 2D image to the stretchMax in the nodes.
(Ideally you make a separate grayscale map of course)

Every4thPixel
09-03-2014, 05:13 AM
It's part of the DPkit http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/plugins/nodes/Additionnal_Nodes_2.html
These plugins are the best! :D

dpont
09-03-2014, 05:44 AM
I can't find the node 'Replace Spot', Am I missing something?..

Sure it can be used for surfacing but this is a node included in DP Filter.

Denis.

lesdogs
09-03-2014, 05:49 AM
Thanks, got it to work!

ncr100
09-21-2014, 10:01 PM
@lesdogs I wonder if you would mind / are at liberty to share an image of what you came up with? (Even a PM would be nice) I am digging the example that inspired you and want to see more of this kind of work.

bazsa73
09-22-2014, 12:37 AM
Check "world coordinates" on the texture panel for the cube object you want to instance