PDA

View Full Version : Should I upgrade my video card?



yoshiii
08-06-2014, 06:51 PM
Hello

I am building a Z97 rig to use with Lightwave. I will use the i7 4790cpu.

Currently I have a GTX660. Should I upgrade the video card too for better performance? Wait for the Nvidia 800 series or go with 700 series?

I will buy the Lightwave program after I have built my pc.

m.d.
08-06-2014, 06:54 PM
If your using octane or turbulence4d you could use the extra power of a newer Nvidia....

If just using stock lightwave, the 660 is probably sufficient

sami
08-06-2014, 07:01 PM
I'd say yes - because Lightwave by itself is not enough. Lightwave +3DCoat is ideal! ;) (for retopo, UV map, 3D painting & texturing, & sculpting and is very LW-friendly).

So personally, we are close enough to release that it might pay to wait to get the 800 series. I have a 660ti, but use the 780 at work and it murders it with polygon count etc - but I'm told that it is slower than the 500 series in regards to CUDA (which is used in 3DCoat etc) - I've heard that NVidia changed their architecture back so the 800 series fixes the CUDA slow down introduced by 600 & 700 series.

YMMV

spherical
08-06-2014, 07:04 PM
I've heard that NVidia changed their architecture back so the 800 series fixes the CUDA slow down introduced by 600 & 700 series.

Is this referring to the ability to quickly tumble large amounts of polys in a viewport like the 500 series could?

yoshiii
08-06-2014, 07:06 PM
I'd say yes - because Lightwave by itself is not enough. Lightwave +3DCoat is ideal! ;) (for retopo, UV map, 3D painting & texturing, & sculpting and is very LW-friendly).

So personally, we are close enough to release that it might pay to wait to get the 800 series. I have a 660ti, but use the 780 at work and it murders it with polygon count etc - but I'm told that it is slower than the 500 series in regards to CUDA (which is used in 3DCoat etc) - I've heard that NVidia changed their architecture back so the 800 series fixes the CUDA slow down introduced by 600 & 700 series.

YMMV

So the 500 series still beats 2 gig 660s, 670s, 760s with 3D coat?

How big of a difference does having 3D coat make?

jasonwestmas
08-06-2014, 08:59 PM
yes, get a new video card with 4GB of VRam or more. But that works best with GPU based plugins of course. If you want to view a lot of textures in openGL then the bigger video card would help there too.