PDA

View Full Version : Storyboards

hazmat777
08-06-2014, 03:30 PM
Sorry if this has been covered to death, but I was wondering how the pros (you guys) use software to do it. I'm a terrible drawing artist, so I dug out my old Manga Studio 3 EX and got it re-installed. Do any of you have suggestions for better software or is it just a matter practicing my drawing skills? I have a Wacom 12x12 (mostly used for textures) and PS CS4, Flipbook and other more photo geared software. I'm really more of a photographer than anything right now. Any clues you can leave like breadcrumbs for an idiot like myself? Thank you !

BigHache
08-06-2014, 04:00 PM
I am an illustrator and unless you're on a Wacom Cintiq or similar, I find drawing in software pretty insufficient to analogue drawing. It's completely different and your drawing skills with a real pencil need to be up to snuff or drawing on a tablet will likely be worse. Of course everyone is different and some take to tablets better/faster.

I don't find tablet drawing easier. I find it offers conveniences that pencil/pen don't, like I don't have to scan it in. I can select an area and resize it. My stylus nib isn't .03 pencil lead that will snap if I press to hard.

Storyboards also don't necessarily have to be complicated or beautiful works of art. They need to convey a story.

So yes, you need to practice. For me illustration starts with studying. I study everything. Something catches my eye, I study it. How the light interacts with it, how it moves, how the wind blows it. After study, how do you recreate it in your medium? To a degree it's not that different than photography. Two different ways to capture an image and convey information.

hazmat777
08-06-2014, 04:46 PM