PDA

View Full Version : Idiot''s Guide to this Render Node business?



saranine
07-27-2014, 11:25 PM
I don't understand what it is. Do you need more than one copy of Lightwave to run a render node? From what I've Googled my very, very vague idea of what a render node is that a network puts your render onto a second [ or more] computer. That network could be wired or internetted.

Do you need 90 copies of Lightwave for 90 nodes?

I know that this is an idiot question. And I don't know if I would ever make these render nodes. If I ever did it would probably be with 2 or 3 computers. Try not to laugh. You are dealing with a Gen X person here who was brought up with arcade Pacman, Cliff Richard singing "Wired for Sound" and the 1982 World Cup.

spherical
07-27-2014, 11:42 PM
Heh, you made my day with your last paragraph. No, LW now has unlimited render nodes (used to be 999 which, for the majority of us, equates to unlimited), so you don't need more than one license.

Its' done with ScreamerNet, which is lwsn.exe found in the /bin directory with the other executables. Google either of those strings and you'll have a lot of hits to learn with.

There are a few tools available that make using SreamerNet less painful and a couple the circumvent it altogether.

Check the SurfaceandRendering_LightWave_10.pdf available in your Support web page where you download your new versions for a start. Not a LOT in there but....

saranine
07-27-2014, 11:55 PM
Thank you for the help. I only need 1 licence. That's good lol.

saranine
07-28-2014, 12:20 AM
Ok. So I found this tutorial [ a little outdated] that says that even on one computer screamernet can be of some benefit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDCHhdwX3Eo

I have no idea if this is right. I have 2 computers. But most of the time I only have access to 1.

My first reaction is that this would all be harder to set up than ruby on rails :mad:

3D Kiwi
07-28-2014, 12:44 AM
It is worth having on one pc as it lets you queue up more than one scene to render at a time. Setting up screamernet can be a pain. There are some tuts on it somewere I think.

spherical
07-28-2014, 02:28 AM
RenderQ is recommended if you want to queue up things on one box. If you have one machine, just let LW have all of the threads available. Adding additional overhead required by these tricks just wastes CPU cycles better left to just get the render out and move on. OR build a cheap box or two and really use network rendering as it is intended.

Here's a thread on it — confusing, at best, but you'll get the gist. http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?139995-RenderQ-vs-LWSN-on-same-machine
Also this: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?109130-Render-Q-window

It's like the old holdover that specifying more threads than are available in hardware renders faster.

paulhart
07-28-2014, 11:56 AM
As I have said multiple times elsewhere, it can be done without all the hair pulling of "Screamernet" by using Amleto. It was a "paid" app, but then moved to OpenSource/Developer, but I highly encourage donations to any OpenSource software that people use.http://virtualcoder.co.uk/amleto/
The developer has been very generous with his time. If anything goes off track in your efforts, post back here for help. User error is usually the problem, but once set up, it works a dream. I have a small three(3) station render farms using Amleto.

spherical
07-28-2014, 03:53 PM
Yep, that's one of them. Couldn't recall the name while in the process of crashing for the day. Another is this:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?140011-New-Network-Render-software
Does tiles on single images, too.

cgb777
07-29-2014, 01:00 PM
On the Mac side, I run a farm of around 16 machines using this: http://dreamlight.com/webshop/utilities/snublauncher.html

I've found it to be pretty quick with setting up all the file paths is being the most time consuming.