PDA

View Full Version : Flicker free animation

Farhad_azer
07-15-2014, 03:01 PM
Hi there

very happy to be here, i am a new Lightwave user and adventurer,

I apologize if this question is asked before but what are the total process of renderin animation with moving obj and camera (without GI) to be absolutely clean and smooth and with zero flickering?

i have not enough information on codec for avi or things like that and consider myself an absolute beginner.

Would u plz direct me to approprate thread?

Thanks in advance.

Ryan Roye
07-15-2014, 03:35 PM
First off, everyone including myself will advise that you render out image sequences. This ensures that if Lightwave is disrupted, or if your computer crashes at any point, you'll be able to continue the renders where you left off. If you don't need to do any compositing, always render out using PNG 24 (or, if you want to conserve HD space and don't mind a lossy format, use JPG). Have Lightwave save all your images into a folder.

You have several options in processing the image sequences:

1) Drop the image sequence into a video editor that can read and display them. If you can do this, I recommend this over everything.

2) Use Lightwave's compositing tab to convert the image sequence into video format. While this is a fairly sluggish way to go in terms of time required to process, it is a native way to do it.

3) Use a program like VirtualDub to preview and process the image sequence. This makes it easy to preview your images as if it were video, and it processes much faster than Lightwave.

As for the flickering thing, you have to ensure that your settings for samples and anti-aliasing are turned up high enough so that when you use soft-shadow casting area lights and similar, you won't have to deal with grainy results.

BokadCastle
07-15-2014, 05:17 PM
this is now about $20, but worth it.

it's by RebelHill Craig Monins.

https://cmivfx.com/store/440-lightwave+flicker+free+animated+radiosity

djwaterman