PDA

View Full Version : The real deal...

novadesigns
11-24-2003, 01:14 PM
Let me help clear something up.

I'm a DAVE School graduate. DAVE School is just like any other technical training school. First you only get software and process training. DAVE School is not an art school. If you have no artistic talent, or training you WILL have a difficult time. Don't bother.

Secondly, and most importantly, you only get out of it what you put into it. 5 hours a day, 5 days a week for a year is barely enough time to comprehend computer animation, let alone excell enough at it to become marketable. I had spent 12 hours a day for 6 months with Lightwave before I even went to the school, and once there stayed after class (7am-noon) until 8 or 10 at night and then went home and worked until 2-3am on my own computer to practice and expand my abilities. I have built and textured scores of models, rendered hundreds of shots, rigged dozens of character models, figured out how to recreate effects and comped shots from TV shows and movies... all on my own.

No one, and I mean NO ONE else in my class, or any other class (there are 3-5 each day) spent much more time beyond that 5 hours a day on learning CG. A few started out doing it for a few extra hours, but soon dropped it to just the classtime. The very few people who ever started original projects beyond their class assignments all quickly dropped them. After graduation many of them had given up on finding a job in less than two months! Some only sent 4 or 5 tapes to places like Pixar and ILM. I mean COME ON!!! :rolleyes: