PDA

View Full Version : How to render without the background colour ?

life3d
07-09-2014, 11:27 AM
Hello, im new to Lightwave, and i need to render only the assets i made without the background colour.
In windows - backdrop options there is no option to turn off the background or to make it transparent.

Can some one put me in the right direction?

Thank you in advance.

Mario

ernpchan
07-09-2014, 11:41 AM
Render to a format that includes the alpha channel, such as PNG32 or TGA32.

life3d
07-09-2014, 01:14 PM
Thank you for the help, i try PNG32 like you tell and works , but some meshes not render . I will do more render to see....

mario

ernpchan
07-09-2014, 01:27 PM
There could be multiple reasons why your mesh doesn't render. Does it have a surface transparency value of 100%? Is it checked off in the Scene Editor? Is it the checkbox 'Unseen By Camera' toggled 'on' in the Object Properties panel?

Greenlaw
07-09-2014, 04:03 PM
Normally you will want your Backdrop to be set to black (in the Image Processing window, Backdrop tab.) This will give you an image with a black background and an alpha channel. If you export a file with an Alpha, some programs will read this file as having a transparent background. In some programs, you may need to enable the Alpha channel to get transparency.

If objects are 'disappearing' in your render, something in the scene is probably occluding it or blocking the light. That or the render flag of the object is disabled, it's fully transparent or fully dissolved, or it's set to Unseen by Camera in the Object properties pane, or any number of other properties than can effectively 'hide' an object.