PDA

View Full Version : screamernet problem

anieves
11-24-2003, 12:06 PM
Hi guys
I finished setting up the screamernet network at the office, since I have little experience with SN I followed Matt's awesome tutorial. Everything is working properly, the nodes work, the renders are saved etc... then I hit a slight problem but an annoying one. When I select Network render SN keeps defaulting the command folder to the local drive and not to the shared network folder; so every time we run it we have to manually select the shared command folder in order for the nodes to see it.

so it shows like this:

E:\screamernet(shared)\screamer_command

when it should be:

\\computername\screamernet(shared)\screamer_comman d

it's like LW is not writting the pref file correctly but if I open it in Notepad it shows the way it is supposed to be... WTH?!

Any suggestions?

Matt
11-25-2003, 03:40 AM
Glad you liked the tutorial! Hey it works!!! :)

The only thing I can think of (because it happened to me) is to do with the how you choose the path.

When you're browsing the network for your shared folder are you finding it through a shortcut in your network places?

I chose a path this way for the 'Save RGB' folder and no frames (except the host machine) were saved.

Turns out that if you chose a path via a network shortcut that points to the machine you're browsing from, it resolves to the local path.

The way to avoid that is to make sure you browse 'top down'. That is 'My Network Places'->'Entire Network'->'Your Workgroup'->'Your computer'->'Your shared folder'.

Rather than 'My Network Places'->'Shortcut to my shared folder'

Hopefully that's it! If not let us know!

Cheers
Matt

anieves
11-25-2003, 07:06 AM
Hey Matt!
awesome tutorial!

It's very strange, I've been going the long way since I read your tut, no shortcuts. Every other path is set to the shared path and it is saved but the command path keeps reverting... I'll keep messing with it and see if I can figure it out.

Matt