PDA

View Full Version : assigning shortcuts to the mouse ?



popshot1190
07-05-2014, 11:07 AM
Hello
I was able to customize the keyboard shortcuts with out much problem,save them and they install when i open the program,,,However, i have not figured out how to put a keyboard shortcut key on my logitech 5 buttom mouse..can it be done?
i hthink it can but i am very lost on this and not understanding what i am reading or just havent read the right stuff....yet,,, please help...thanks popshot1190

jeric_synergy
07-05-2014, 01:48 PM
I think that would be down to your mouse software. That's the place to start looking.

popshot1190
07-05-2014, 02:01 PM
ok,,i will try that,,,thanks

Waves of light
07-06-2014, 11:12 AM
I now use AHK (auto hot key) which allows me to assign key and mouse combinations to LW shortcuts. For instance, shift + mouse wheel up/down expands/contracts loop selections.

Stick this into your browser and look for the threads where users have created their own AHK scripts. You maybe able to assign such combinations to your side mouse button:

site:forums.newtek.com AHK

Cheers,
Ricky.

jeric_synergy
07-06-2014, 11:45 AM
Oooooo, now I'll have to check AHK out. :thumbsup:

All I want is "wheel-zoom", that should be easy, no?

Waves of light
07-06-2014, 12:16 PM
Oooooo, now I'll have to check AHK out. :thumbsup:

All I want is "wheel-zoom", that should be easy, no?

More can be found here: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?140009-Lightwave-plugin-AHK-Select-Connected&p=1366184#post1366184

I now have a setup (big thanks to Erikals for bringing this to my attention) whereby my left hand doesn't need to move across to the right hand side of the keyboard.

Using single, double and triple key presses assigned to my favourite hotkeys, coupled with shift and ctrl + mouse button and wheel combination, I have seen an increase in my modeling speeds.

Example (S - single, D - double, T - triple):

C key:
S=Copy
D=Rotate Snap (LWCAD)
T=Drag Weights (LWCAD)

V key:
S=Paste
D=Knife Tool (LWCAD)
T=Knife Tool (native)

B key:
S=Bevel
D=Bridge
T=Bandsaw Pro

D Key:
S=Display options
D=Cut
T=Divide

G key:
S=Center Viewport
D=BandGlue
T=Not assigned

T key:
S=Move
D=New Tranform Tool
T=New Tweak Tool

No.1 Key:
S=Edit Edges
D=Not assigned
T=Not assigned

No.2 Key:
S=Align X
D=Align Y
T=Align Z

No.3 Key:
S=Quick Cuts - single
D=Quick Cuts - double
T=Quick Cuts - triple

No.4 Key:
S=Mirror X
D=Mirror Y
T=Mirror Z

I also have X assigned to drop selection (saves me having to go across to the / key)

Mouse works like this:

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=122819&d=1404670403

I've just tried assigning the > and < keys to zoom in and out and it works perfectly in Modeler.

Cheers,
Ricky.

122819

jeric_synergy
07-06-2014, 01:07 PM
Thanks for the overview, it just gets more and more attractive!

I think a robust keyboard that can take a lot of pounding would be a good investment with those triple keypresses.

I really need to unearth my Logitech G-13: I like it, when I remember to use it. I do require the cheat sheet to be visible, but that's what the bottom of the 2nd monitor is for.....

Waves of light
07-06-2014, 01:13 PM
Thanks for the overview, it just gets more and more attractive!

I think a robust keyboard that can take a lot of pounding would be a good investment with those triple keypresses.

I really need to unearth my Logitech G-13: I like it, when I remember to use it. I do require the cheat sheet to be visible, but that's what the bottom of the 2nd monitor is for.....

Lol. Mini post-it notes cover the left side of my first monitor... you know, for when senility finally gets me.

jeric_synergy
07-06-2014, 01:28 PM
For the G13 I made a PShop template of the SHAPE of the keyboard. Then for every keyset I have one printout: Modeler, Layout, and Bioshock. ;)