PDA

View Full Version : Maxwell 3 rendering engiine

Snosrap
06-27-2014, 10:26 AM
Just curious if anyone has dabbled with the Maxwell renderer for Lightwave. Good - bad? I'm mucking about with the demo now and would like more info. I'm not to crazy about using the Maxwell Studio and would prefer to stay in LW for all the work. If anyone would like to share their experiences it would be appreciated.

jwiede
06-28-2014, 06:13 PM
I typically use Maxwell3 with C4D, but I have some experience using the LW plugin as well. Can you be a bit more precise what your goals are that have you considering Maxwell, and what attracted you to it? Without knowing that stuff, it's kind of difficult for me to know what kinds of experiences you'd be interested in overall.

Snosrap
06-28-2014, 10:54 PM
Thanks for the reply jwiede. I basically want to up the quality of the home and office interiors renders that I need to create. It seems that I can only get so far with LW renderer in that regard so I'm currently testing Kray, Octane and Maxwell. All three of their galleries had great examples of interior renderings so it seems that any will do the job, but they also seem to have their pros and cons. I really want to stay in the LW enviroment and it appears as if a lot of Maxwell's power comes from it's modules and that scares me a little. What has been your experience with it?

jwiede
06-30-2014, 07:27 PM
Thanks for the reply jwiede. I basically want to up the quality of the home and office interiors renders that I need to create. It seems that I can only get so far with LW renderer in that regard so I'm currently testing Kray, Octane and Maxwell. All three of their galleries had great examples of interior renderings so it seems that any will do the job, but they also seem to have their pros and cons. I really want to stay in the LW environment...