PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 12 and Lightwave's future

saranine
06-21-2014, 08:18 PM
Lightwave 12 [whenever it happens] will make or break it as a 3D product. I don't think that it will go one way or the other. Either

[1] Newtek fixes up the documentation, gives a unified option, updates the 1990ish system of layers, adds more features etc. Lightwave is competitive again and I could finally recommend it to a total novice at 3D.

or

[2] Newtek leaves Lightwave 12 pretty much the same as Lightwave 11. Autodesk will be waiting to pounce. Within a year Autodesk will buy up Lightwave.

I think that Lightwave 12 is high noon. My private joke is "what's more secret than files from the KBG?" Answer: "Lightwave's feaures!" Look at Form Z, Hitfilm, Blender if you want to see industry standard systems of user help files and documentation. Having a Lightwave 10 help file without a pdf or GUI help or set of intro videos in the program doesn't cut it in 2014. I'm sorry but it doesn't.

Newtek would have to be the most quasi-autistic extreme of engineering "if it works we don't need to sell it" mentality: brilliant engineers [ look at Chronosculpt] but just almost an opensource late 1980's company culture - we don't need to document because we pass around our ideas by word of mouth.

I've probably narked off any Newtek employees who read this. But someone has to say it. You are so, so far behind the documentation curve. I'd say 20 years behind - having one help file from the last version and a mish mash of youtube videos - that was good enough in about 1995.

It would be unwise for anyone in my opinion to just learn Lightwave. If Lightwave 12 flops you will want to be skilled in something else.

erikals
06-21-2014, 08:27 PM
somewhat true, F1 launches an old LightWave 10 webpage, not good...

the pdf files for LightWave 11.6 can be found here >
https://www.lightwave3d.com/account

once signed in, you can download the pdf files...

---------------------------------------