PDA

View Full Version : Considering a class - but it's Maya

OlaHaldor
06-18-2014, 03:43 AM
I'm considering bringing my 10 years of hobby/fun/amateur 3D work to a new level. I don't have an education. Period. But I work in the TV and film business as a colorist and onliner on a daily basis. However, with the masses of inexpensive software becoming available (they're literally giving it away for free, and anyone can become a 'colorist') forces me to look for new ground for a source of income.

My interest for 3D brought me to LightWave over a decade ago, after I had a go at 3D Max r2 and didn't understand a thing. LightWave made perfectly sense because of the uncluttered interface. Clear text, no icons. I loved it.

I cannot find ANY 1-year or 2-year training either online or in Norway in general, where LightWave is the focus. Thus I gotta take what's available.
There's a couple of schools that teach 3D design for generalists, and 3D game design where you basically learn the same as the 3D design course on year 1, and the second year you'll dive into UDK to bring your ideas and games to life.

All I know so far is that it's based on Maya. I've never touched Maya except a PLE years ago, whereas I didn't understand a thing - just like with Max.

Have any of you made the leap from LW to Maya? I'm nowhere ready to get rid of LW. It'll always be with me. But Maya might be a handy tool to know in general perhaps?

I feel I'm running loops chasing my tail. Should I apply, should I not? The big "I don't get Maya" idea is getting to me..

toeknee
06-18-2014, 04:25 AM