PDA

View Full Version : Another one



Tony3d
06-10-2014, 01:56 PM
I have a cable to make that has this braid of wire running around it, similar to this one I did. The problem is this time it's not a round circle. Is there anyway in Lightwave to have these strands if wire follow a contour like this one?

Tony3d
06-10-2014, 02:39 PM
Did this with place mesh. Why am I getting larger spaces on the sides?

JoePoe
06-10-2014, 02:51 PM
My guess... The round parts are made up of many thin polys. The sides are six bigger polys.
Placemesh is assigning a copy to each poly.

As for the first post... Sorry buddy, I am not getting what you're after.
(it looks different than the second post)

At any rate, maybe use rail clone instead?

.... or at least make a proxy object with equally spaced geometry to "placemesh" to.

Snosrap
06-10-2014, 06:43 PM
Yeah doesn't Place Mesh place the meshes at the polygon normal.

XswampyX
06-10-2014, 06:48 PM
You don't need to use a radial clone, because it won't work. Make one strand and then clone it along the length of your cable and it will magically appear around the cable. You can then clip off the redundant ends.