PDA

View Full Version : 4 cubes, 3 hinges, 2 endomorphs and 1 problem

marke
06-05-2014, 04:26 AM
The problem is the boxes are changing size as they move, I don't want this to happen. Is this do-able with endomorphs or should I be trying IK?

Lightwave 10

hrgiger
06-05-2014, 05:34 AM
You can't do this with endomorphs because they're linear. Which means that all the points in your object are moving in a straight line from the base shape to the morphed shape which is why they are changing scale. So your rotations that you used in creating the morph are turning into point translations.

marke
06-05-2014, 06:51 AM
Thanks for that, do I need to do this as simple forward Kinematics. I t may look simple but it has me puzzled.

Every4thPixel
06-05-2014, 07:12 AM
I wouldn't do this with morphs. It's better to rig it.

marke
06-05-2014, 09:28 AM
Meaning bones, with IK? I am not experienced at rigging and my knowledge on how you would put bones in a solid cube is zero. Thanks for the advice anyway

Danner
06-05-2014, 09:49 AM
I dunno what you are trying to do exactly, but simple mechanical objects all you usually need is good pivot point placement and correct parenting.

jeric_synergy
06-05-2014, 10:07 AM
I think it's a common misconception that IK has to do with Bones exclusively: not true. ANY item, including cameras and lights, can use IK.

Especially for pistons, IK can be used to build mechanical rigs. An entire complicated robot can be rigged using IK and zero Bones.

If you're a beginner, I HIGHLY recommend you avail yourself of Rebel Hill's rigging tutorials on YouTube, on his RHLW channel. Absolutely invaluable, and starting at the VERY basics, which it seems you need to get a handle on. I've used LW >10 years and it was good to have some very fundamental concepts re-visited.

marke
06-06-2014, 09:21 AM
thanks, I am ploughing through these tutorials now

marke
06-06-2014, 09:26 AM
http://vimeo.com/97536384

marke
06-06-2014, 09:44 AM
http://vimeo.com/97536384