PDA

View Full Version : Knife tool



~DD~Apocalypse
11-22-2003, 12:45 PM
ok when i use the knife tool and take out a point to cut off a corner of a square or something, it leaves a hole

is there any way to prevent that?

riki
11-22-2003, 07:20 PM
Are you trying to knife through a Point? Are you working on a subpatch object?

~DD~Apocalypse
11-22-2003, 09:23 PM
just as in puttina line thorugh a box then deleting the point that extra point

riki
11-22-2003, 09:31 PM
okay I think I know what you mean.

The Knife tool adds segments not extra faces. So there would always be a hole using the knife tool. Maybe a better option would be a boolean subtraction.

riki
11-22-2003, 09:39 PM
So you'd end up with something like this.

~DD~Apocalypse
11-23-2003, 08:15 AM
EXACTLY!!!


whats a boolean?

Melvil
11-23-2003, 12:00 PM
To activate the boolean tool, press Shift+B.

The way this works is you will take the object you want to cut in one layer, and then in another layer create an object that overlaps it. You will then select the layer with the first object and put the second object in the background. Press Shift+B and select to do a "subtract" operation, and go! The shape of the part of the second object that overlaps the first is what will be cut out.

-Dave

~DD~Apocalypse
11-23-2003, 01:28 PM
thx man