PDA

View Full Version : Sketchfab and Lightwave



Snosrap
05-29-2014, 10:16 PM
Details here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VtLvmcnXD8I

ernpchan
05-29-2014, 11:00 PM
This looks great. I'm going to have to look into sketchfab.

Simon-S
05-30-2014, 03:50 AM
This is really cool, much better than sending wip images to a client.

johnliebler
05-30-2014, 02:42 PM
Here's an antibody I uploaded to test it out. Pretty cool! :)

Edit: I guess I can't embed it here. Here's a link to a couple on my blog: http://www.johnliebler.com/animation/sketchfabtastic

ernpchan
05-30-2014, 03:09 PM
That looks cool. There's some odd popping with the lighter areas as I tumble the model. I assume that's a Sketchfab issue?

OnlineRender
06-03-2014, 11:00 AM
I beta tested it quickly and I have been on sketchfab for a long time "nearly day 1 tbh" however plugin works excellent



LightWiki Bot https://sketchfab.com/models/kqc1y608N1DjMSy2mid88bEKO71

lego NT https://sketchfab.com/models/58e820ab64ad4257ac772d721c845492

LightWiki v3 now has sketchfab model submission and displays them lovely


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9S_3xaXdZU

now all NT need to do is add the sketchfab to the ckeditor on the forums and we are jamming

Simon-S
06-03-2014, 11:10 AM
If only sketchfab could display animation too...now that really would be cool.

OnlineRender
06-03-2014, 11:32 AM
If only sketchfab could display animation too...now that really would be cool.

well essentially it can "webgl" can run fbx or collada which holds the animation channels , hopefuly alban and team will implement it one day

Ma3rk
06-03-2014, 05:33 PM
Slick! Only last night was I wondering if such a utility existed. Will definitely check it out.

M.

CaptainMarlowe
06-04-2014, 11:06 AM
Very cool ! I opened an account. Upload works great from Layout !
Here is my first try :

https://sketchfab.com/models/70e283c6508e4a75985a6ad843ff8ad3

johnliebler
06-04-2014, 01:11 PM
Hey, sorry for the slow reply. I seem to have contracted the get no email notifications disease. Anyway, yes, I think it may be some kind of Ray recursion type thing with the multiple layers of transparency. I figured it wasn't that distracting, and I could live with it for now. I'm going to try to upload something from layout next to see how that works. I just uploaded the first two with through the sketchfab uploader on the site.



That looks cool. There's some odd popping with the lighter areas as I tumble the model. I assume that's a Sketchfab issue?

Snosrap
06-04-2014, 09:39 PM
Very cool ! I opened an account. Upload works great from Layout !
Here is my first try :

https://sketchfab.com/models/70e283c6508e4a75985a6ad843ff8ad3 Sweet! How'd you get those stars in there?

CaptainMarlowe
06-05-2014, 02:23 AM
It's in the settings panel‚ once your model is uploaded

Snosrap
06-05-2014, 04:30 PM
It's in the settings panel‚ once your model is uploaded Oh - I see. I'm going to give it a go here soon.

geo_n
06-05-2014, 08:08 PM
Haven't tried this but not sure I want models uploaded on sketchfab on the net where people can download it for free.
Since lightwave has really good 3dprinting capabilities, an integration with 3dprinting service like shapeways would be good to have. Similar to this sketchfab function, it should be a button that directly uploads to shapeways. 3Dprinting is huge hype maker for any soft right now so lightwave needs to get in on it.

CaptainMarlowe
06-06-2014, 04:22 AM
Here's another one. I noticed that when uploader from within layout, we sometimes have to load textures manually, but that's quite straightforward anyway.

https://sketchfab.com/models/06f6f7f4cab84763a14def27b3a337ba

hrgiger
06-07-2014, 02:53 AM
Here are a few of my models. I'm getting some strange splotches on the models not sure why? In some browsers it shows up in the actual model, in others it just shows in the thumbnails. https://sketchfab.com/hrgiger

OnlineRender
06-07-2014, 04:28 AM
Here are a few of my models. I'm getting some strange splotches on the models not sure why? In some browsers it shows up in the actual model, in others it just shows in the thumbnails. https://sketchfab.com/hrgiger

in chrome the models look fine ... you may need to re_take the model main image again that show splotchy

Bernie2Strokes
09-15-2016, 09:22 PM
I didn't know a site like SketchFab even existed! Has anyone tried creating website sprites and navigation links with that?