PDA

View Full Version : Instances are offset, without offset being used.



DaveyWaver
05-17-2014, 01:23 AM
Hi,

I have a problem with instancing, please help.

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h318/Rielaiz/Instancing_Problem_zps5aa48748.jpg (http://s67.photobucket.com/user/Rielaiz/media/Instancing_Problem_zps5aa48748.jpg.html)

The problem is that, when I start up instances for a surface in Layout, the instances are offset below and forward from the service.

Please explain why this is happening.

I have been following the Lightwave Group: Lightwave Controlling Instances with Weight Maps Tutorial, on YouTube.

I look forward to your reply.

DaveyWaver

Amurrell
05-17-2014, 04:24 AM
Usually this happens to me when the geometry that you are trying to apply instances to is not at the origin to begin with and have moved it there in Layout. The offset is calculated from where the pivot is in space as far as I know. If the pivot started anywhere other than the origin when you imported the object, then instances become offset. Not sure if this is what happened here or not without further information.

DaveyWaver
05-17-2014, 05:24 AM
Hi Amurrell,

Thank you, sounds like that's it.

I will try this when I am back at LW, later today;)

DaveyWaver
05-17-2014, 07:12 AM
Hi,

I moved the ground plane to the origin in Modeler, then updated LW. Unfortunately, this didn't solve the problem.

Samus
05-17-2014, 08:11 AM
Hi,

I moved the ground plane to the origin in Modeler, then updated LW. Unfortunately, this didn't solve the problem.

Hey! ... it's not your ground plane but the Subject Object that you whant to clone that needs to be in the world center meaning X:0 Y:0 Z:0

Cheers ;)

DaveyWaver
05-17-2014, 09:09 AM
Hi Samus,

Thank you, I will give this a try :D

DaveyWaver

DaveyWaver
05-17-2014, 10:15 AM
Hi Guys,

Okay, that fixed it, thank you for your help guys :D

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h318/Rielaiz/Instancing_Problem_01_zps0f1364d8.jpg (http://s67.photobucket.com/user/Rielaiz/media/Instancing_Problem_01_zps0f1364d8.jpg.html)

Next, I'll try to have some of the grass not grow in a particular area using weight map :D

DaveyWaver