PDA

View Full Version : Spliney shape: prepatory to extrusion, or sumthin'....



jeric_synergy
05-08-2014, 10:10 PM
see attached
121818

So I've got this spliney shape, and I'd like it to have a bit of a "toothpaste squirted out onto a toothbrush" shape: all rounded, and a just a bit tapered towards the ends.

It's a logo, and eventually will have to match the 2d art, so something that looked correct at long focal lengths would be best.

What's a good approach for modeling this geometry that will have some volume, i.e. about the same depth as the sphere?


Thanks! :thumbsup:

prometheus
05-08-2014, 10:38 PM
see attached
121818

So I've got this spliney shape, and I'd like it to have a bit of a "toothpaste squirted out onto a toothbrush" shape: all rounded, and a just a bit tapered towards the ends.

It's a logo, and eventually will have to match the 2d art, so something that looked correct at long focal lengths would be best.

What's a good approach for modeling this geometry that will have some volume, i.e. about the same depth as the sphere?


Thanks! :thumbsup:

why not just spline trace it and go to construct and patch it?
121820 121821


Michael

jeric_synergy
05-08-2014, 10:51 PM
PX_Bezier would be almost ideal, IF I could scale each knot individually. So far I haven't found a way to do that... :stumped:

prometheus
05-08-2014, 10:57 PM
PX_Bezier would be almost ideal, IF I could scale each knot individually. So far I haven't found a way to do that... :stumped:

you can do that with c_worm instead...wish those two were one and a single tool..that would be uber awesome:)
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/C_WormLt/

Another way would be to just draw a divided tube or cube matching the length of the backround image spline, then use curve form from px too.
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Cform/

prometheus
05-08-2014, 11:16 PM
and another way, just draw the first top spline for the shape, with a spline curve, select the points of that and extend drag it out a bit, and delete the polys that arenīt connected, then subpatch it and line up the shape later..

prometheus
05-08-2014, 11:34 PM
even faster maybe, just use px bezier in belt mode, set value of z to 0 after that... and modify using the tweak tool to tweak the points to match the backround image...





http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=121822&d=1399613513 http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=121823&d=1399613602

121822 121823

jeric_synergy
05-11-2014, 11:39 AM
why not just spline trace it and go to construct and patch it?
121820 121821
Michael
Now that SPLINE PATCH is a lot more easy to use, that would be viable, but would leave me w/a flat side. Once I got a handle on MULTI RAIL EXTRUDE (a neglected tool in MY toolbox, for one) it got me there in few steps, and with a pleasing 3d volume.

FWIW, I'm still quite lame if more than 2 rails are involved, but I hope to remedy that (and to NEED to remedy that.....) reasonably soon.

MY problem is I find so many bugs that it really slows me down.

JoePoe
05-11-2014, 03:33 PM
I drew three discs: Beginning Middle and End.
And ran Bezier Bridge (https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/bezier-bridge/) twice. (It only works on two polys at a time, so in this case I had to run it twice to do one half and then the other.)
Then finished off the ends manually with "e", "t", and shrinking them down small with 'H"..... prob would have been easier to just bevel them with a little tweak of rotation. (and made them subD friendly (https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/cm_polydivide/)). :thumbsup:

121850 121851 121852 121853

jeric_synergy
05-11-2014, 04:47 PM
My BEZIER BRIDGE numeric panel differs substantially from yours. (W7) Doesn't seem to work quite as smoothly, and I can't get one parameter to change at all...

Since it seems to work on 2 polys at a time, I guess you did one half then the other?

JoePoe
05-11-2014, 05:03 PM
My BEZIER BRIDGE numeric panel differs substantially from yours. (W7) Doesn't seem to work quite as smoothly, and I can't get one parameter to change at all...

Since it seems to work on 2 polys at a time, I guess you did one half then the other?

Not surprised. I'm using version .9 :D. The updated versions were PC only.... BUT, they should have the added benefit of inserting (at least one) additional control point within the curve. As far as running smoothly goes.... the image above of BBridge in use was taken after wrestling the initial positions of the handles into a manageable state. They start out pretty stretched out for me too (if that's what you're referring to).

Re input fields: Yeah, I think I remember that they would only respond if you used the little arrows first to "wake it up".... then you can input manually. (bear in mind very small increments do a lot.)

Yup, one side at a time....I can see the feature request wheels turning :D
I should have probably mentioned that in my breakdown. Will amend the original post. Thnx.

Edit: there is another interesting plug that I personally have never really gotten to know too well, but could also do the trick. CM Loft (https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/cm_loft/).
But, in this case, I don't think it offers the same kind of control.

prometheus
05-11-2014, 09:24 PM
Now that SPLINE PATCH is a lot more easy to use, that would be viable, but would leave me w/a flat side. Once I got a handle on MULTI RAIL EXTRUDE (a neglected tool in MY toolbox, for one) it got me there in few steps, and with a pleasing 3d volume.

FWIW, I'm still quite lame if more than 2 rails are involved, but I hope to remedy that (and to NEED to remedy that.....) reasonably soon.

MY problem is I find so many bugs that it really slows me down.

You got to learn how the curves are applied with start and end diamond heads and how to select them in proper order and run it, I selected the length splines first 1,2 then the cross section 3 in counter clock flow, then used patch, that will only get you half
of the splines patched then you need deselect all and flipp all in one go with "F" then select the splines on the other part that isnīt patched already and use patch on that...in the same order 1.2 and 3 for the cross section then patch that.
Itīs a bit tricky if you donīt use it often, otherwise I think it would be quite easy to work with them...but I also see that such tools like this could be much more initiuve when selecting and patching it.

prometheus
05-11-2014, 09:40 PM
[double post

prometheus
05-11-2014, 09:47 PM
And the legacy of splinegod lives on....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOcyliN80sI

prometheus
05-11-2014, 09:51 PM
and here is my simple curves, first layers only three curves, second layer is patched.

jeric_synergy
05-12-2014, 01:31 AM
1) you don't have to keep reposting, just edit your existing posts.

2) somewhere along the line LW3dG made patching virtually bulletproof: last time I tried I literally COULDN'T fail to make a patch. So, great: I'm a lot more likely to try now. But for this volume, the MULTI RAIL SPLINE EXTRUDE was perfect, especially after the addition of cm_PolyDivide to make closing the ends trivial.