PDA

View Full Version : 3D printing problem...overlaps

GATOR
05-02-2014, 02:59 PM
I posted about this once a while back, and was hoping it would get fixed. I just installed LW 11.6.2 and ran a very simple test on overlapping objects.

The problem is that wherever two objects overlap, it creates a void.

I've been able to model, but it takes a lot of time to either extrude faces, or align faces perfectly. I've tried Retopoing the objects with programs like MeshMixer, but the files are huge, not as defined and not easy to edit.

Plus, when I want to use a model I've previously built in my archive (I've been using LW for 10 years) I almost always have to start from scratch because of all the overlaps.

Below is an example of the problem. This is two cubes with a slight overlap done in LW Modeler. Then I use Simplify 3D as my slicer software. After that is the print from my Duplicator 4.

It doesn't matter which slicer I use, RepG, Makerware...etc. The import looks fine, but it prints with a void.

Other than that, I love working with Lightwave for creating 3D models.

Lewis
05-02-2014, 03:29 PM
Hi!

Did you tried boolean operation in LWM so you actually fuse/weld two boxes in LW prior the export?

spherical
05-02-2014, 03:43 PM