PDA

View Full Version : Using Points is Causing my Computer to Crash

Columbo24
05-02-2014, 10:32 AM
Hi
I've been doing Lightwave tutorials for two months. On the latest tutorial on using the points tool I'm having a problem. I'm making an arrow sign. First I'm right clicking and adding points. Than counter clockwise I'm selecting 3 or 4 points and hitting P. Problem is when I'm finished the first polygon is gone, but the points are still there. I try to select the points and create another polygon and my system crashes. I work with hypervoxels, hard fx and my computer never crashes, but working with points is giving me fits. Are points that demanding on your system? Do I need to trash preferences? Any suggestions would be welcome.
Thanks
Bill

prometheus
05-02-2014, 10:37 AM
what tutorial? + screenshots might help.

I have no issues with adding points selecting them and make poly of them.

lightwave 11.6.2 final build windows 7

Sounds really serious though if your whole computer crashes and not only lightwave?

Michael

Columbo24
05-02-2014, 03:41 PM
121721Sorry I meant the program crashes. It also did this when I used Viper. My system is Mac 10.7.5, i5, 8GB 1333 Mhz DDR 3,AMD Radeon HD 6970M 1024 MB. In After Effects and FCP when I trashed preferences it help stop program crashes. Will this work with Lightwave? Also here is an attachment of a simple arrow with points thats extruded, it,s not looking right either. Thanks again.
Bill

prometheus
05-02-2014, 03:59 PM
121721Sorry I meant the program crashes. It also did this when I used Viper. My system is Mac 10.7.5, i5, 8GB 1333 Mhz DDR 3,AMD Radeon HD 6970M 1024 MB. In After Effects and FCP when I trashed preferences it help stop program crashes. Will this work with Lightwave? Also here is an attachment of a simple arrow with points thats extruded, it,s not looking right either. Thanks again.
Bill

Aha..mac...that might be an issue:D

can you post the object?