PDA

View Full Version : If you're in NY can I watch you work?

amiridon
11-21-2003, 01:01 PM
I'm pretty new to Lightwave.

And I have the theory pretty much down packed. So I'm wondering if there is anyone out there in the NYC area that is willing to let me watch you work on a project. I just want to see technique in action. I promise not to be a bother. If you can do this for me please email me Here ([email protected])

DaveWarner
11-22-2003, 02:05 PM
Originally posted by amiridon
I'm wondering if there is anyone out there in the NYC area that is willing to let me watch you work on a project. I just want to see technique in action.

If you were able to find a professional animator who was willing to let you "look over his shoulder" I doubt if you would learn much. Most pros work very quickly and the only way you would learn anything is if the animator explained everything he was doing or, at the very least, stopped to answer your questions as he went along.

What you want is a private tutor and unless you're willing to pay a lot of money, it's just not going to happen.

However, this is what tutorial videos and CDs are for. Buy Dan Ablan's 3D Garage CDs and it's just like having a private tutor walk you through a bunch of different projects and explain everything as he's going along.

Tutorial CDs are really the best way to learn LightWave because you can follow along with the tutorial and try out things as they are demonstrated...something you would not be able to do if someone allowed you to watch them work.

Good luck.

John Fornasar
11-22-2003, 09:33 PM
I'd have to agree with Dave... and there is another problem lately... I'm not in a graphics house but a "major metropolitan energy company"... with new security rules in effect, it would be hard to bring my grandmother to work.