PDA

View Full Version : Modeler32 > < Layout64



erikals
04-24-2014, 02:19 PM
hi,

any way to make the Modeler32 launch Layout64... ?
...and the other way around?

so sending an object from Modeler32 will bring it to Layout64...

maybe AHK is the only way... ?

erikals
04-24-2014, 02:25 PM
only got these two plugs needed for Layout 32bit, and i expect LW12 to have a fix...
so time to think of moving to Layout64...

Lightwave plugin - LayoutMeshEditTool (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSyCoEgB6oo) *must have
Lightwave plugin - WeightPaintTool (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WuHDOn35bVY) *must have


Modeler however is not quite there yet >

Lightwave plugin - Bandsaw Ex (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dgUn6e2pX7c) *must have
Lightwave plugin - PX Arc (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwFbBnCiRkE) *must have
Lightwave plugin - UV noodlekit, UV Taut (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rz5l1WjUmF8)
Lightwave plugin - 3DD MeshRekniter (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_ISeyMKc_A) *must have
Lightwave plugin - FI's UV Chalk (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RLszqWUKUA)
Lightwave plugin - SplineLength (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tH-NV8W5Gok) *must have
Lightwave plugin - UV imaginator (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hDZtxi54ASo)
Lightwave plugin - QuickSpring (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o74R02BF5iM)
Lightwave plugin - mn_DrainBGWeight (32) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9r56uwDG3hU) *must have

spherical
04-24-2014, 03:07 PM
Edit your LWHUB11.CFG and LWHUB11-64.CFG files. Make one launch Layout 64 and Modeler32 and the other Layout 32 and Modeler 64.

erikals
04-24-2014, 03:49 PM
Ah-haaa!! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/king.gif

Awesome! thank you! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

spherical
04-24-2014, 04:34 PM
Be aware that this may cause some issues, although those have normally been mixups between LW versions, not bit-ness. Seems that it would cause no problems, as long as you stay in-version. IOW, bit-ness doesn't matter between Layout and Modeler, as they are compatible across the board, unless there's something I've never run into, which is always possible.

geo_n
04-24-2014, 07:58 PM
In the HUB64.CFG and HUB32.CFG there are two lines, you must setup they as:

ProcessName 1 LWModeler "directory of modeler 32bit.exe" Directory where you have the hub.cfg file ->( EG. c:\user\youruser\.Newtek\Lightwave\11.0)
Same for the other process
ProcessName 1 LWLayout "directory of layout 64bit.exe" Directory where you have the hub.cfg file

You must change the lines in the 32 and 64 hub.cfg files both.
in this way doesn't matter which program you start first.

erikals
04-24-2014, 08:32 PM
thank you again! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

it'll be nice to get more Ram access with Layout 64... http://erikalstad.com/backup/Matrix.gif

spherical
04-25-2014, 01:55 AM
In the HUB64.CFG and HUB32.CFG there are two lines, you must setup they as:

ProcessName 1 LWModeler "directory of modeler 32bit.exe" Directory where you have the hub.cfg file ->( EG. c:\user\youruser\.Newtek\Lightwave\11.0)
Same for the other process
ProcessName 1 LWLayout "directory of layout 64bit.exe" Directory where you have the hub.cfg file

You must change the lines in the 32 and 64 hub.cfg files both.
in this way doesn't matter which program you start first.

Is there an echo in here?

Danner
04-25-2014, 02:35 AM
64 bit alternatives

Bandsaw EX --- I prefer Edit edges
UV imaginator --- export EPS
UV noodlekit -- UV set align

geo_n
04-25-2014, 02:57 AM
Is there an echo in here?

Nah. Just copy pasted that from someone in kray forum that gave the correct entries to change in hub.

Alternatives to Nitsara plugins?

erikals
04-25-2014, 04:10 AM
Bandsaw EX --- I prefer Edit edges
> they work quite differently, Bandsaw EX is for situations like this > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0stCW5m85lI
that said, it think TrueArt has something similar for 64

UV imaginator --- export EPS
> yep, an alternative, there is also another one that copies to clipboard

UV noodlekit --- UV set align
> nice, didn't know, need to check this one out... :]
edit: to me UV noodlekit is still preferred, as it is a one click operation


thank you for suggesting these though,
hopefully there soon will be 64bit alternatives for all the plugins mentioned in post #2

spherical
04-25-2014, 02:37 PM
Had a think when I woke up this morning, and you may have already done this by now. Might help to prevent cross-contamination with a standard install to redirect a set of configs to an alternate location with the -c switch in shortcuts for all three applications in the set. That will let LW write only that set of configs and leave the standard ones alone. Could have two sets in two different locations if you want to have Modeler32/Layout64 and Modeler64/Layout32 pairs. Then, just to make sure things go as planned, I'd probably start a session by starting the Hub first and using its cursor menu to launch the main apps. Doing that will ensure that the path you want is followed.