PDA

View Full Version : Instance Generator on more then four points polygons?



Lucasmorif
04-23-2014, 06:43 AM
Hi guys I'm trying to use the Instance Generator on more then four points polygons, but it isn't working. Am I doing something wrong? Is there any workaround or will I have to slice my polygons to four and threes one by one?
Here's my print screen.
http://prntscr.com/3cn8wy
Thanks.

lertola2
04-23-2014, 08:26 AM
You should use to triple command to break your large polygons into triangles.

Lucasmorif
04-24-2014, 02:01 PM
Thanks lertola2, I used, but the instance generator distributed the instances in a really odd way.

Greenlaw
04-24-2014, 02:07 PM
Yes, if you use surface mode, you need to use quads or tris. If your plane is an ngon, you might try slicing the object in a grid pattern by using Julienne 2 twice--once along x and then along y--and then tripling or killing any remaining n-gons around the edges.

G.

Greenlaw
04-24-2014, 02:12 PM
Also, if you need to the unaltered version of the n-gon in the scene for rendering, make a second version object and slice up the copy. Then, you can disable the sliced version from render in Scene Editor and it will still work as instancer.

Lucasmorif
04-26-2014, 11:49 AM
Great greenlaw!
Thanks a lot!
I'll give it a try.