PDA

View Full Version : Surface Editor doen't show/use preset correctly



Activator
11-20-2003, 06:19 PM
I'm having a weird problem.

In Layout, if I change the "default material" of an object to a "metal" preset, the thumbnail display in the Surface Editor window doesn't look like the preset I just used. (I know how to change and use a preset shader. I'm doing this correctly.)

Now, if I use F12 to switch to Modeler, the Surface Editor shows the thumbnail correctly! If I save the model and switch back to Layout, the Surface Editor still displays the shader wrong. (ie: it does not look like metal, just the base color, surface hilites and bump map.)

The rendered model looks like the Surface Editor thumbnail, NOT like the Preset shader I intended to use.

Any ideas?

mlinde
11-21-2003, 09:07 AM
Do the surface editor details show the correct information? If so, I would be unconcerned about the preview. Often the SE previews seem a bit off to me.

Activator
11-21-2003, 09:14 AM
After much playing around and experimenting, I found that I have to have the raytraced reflections box checked in the render options. THEN, it shows up and renders correctly.

Everything's fine now. Thanks!