PDA

View Full Version : Curve to 2-point polyt chain



Philbert
04-07-2014, 11:31 PM
I swear I remember a way to do this but i can't find it built in. I used LWCad Curves to make some hair strands. You can just used Strand Tool on the Curve but sometimes it doesn't add enough points to the chain. So I converted it to a LWCurve which has enough points but I need a poly chain now. I found the old Curve2PolyChain plugin but it seems to be only 32 bit. Any ideas?

bobakabob
04-08-2014, 12:35 AM
Select all, extrude then delete the extra points. Then click 'w' to find your 2 point polys.

Philbert
04-08-2014, 12:36 AM
Not the answer I was expecting but hey, if it works it works, thanks.

spherical
04-08-2014, 03:39 AM
That's why I always have a 32-bit install waiting in the wings.

Philbert
04-08-2014, 03:40 AM
Yeah I just set up this computer recently and just have the minimal apps installed now.

OnlineRender
04-08-2014, 03:41 AM
was talking about this yesterday ... I draw a spline copy edges , paste in new layer ta-da 2 point poly chain

spherical
04-08-2014, 03:42 AM
Just make sure to close that Hub between launches.

prometheus
04-08-2014, 03:56 AM
In the latest lw versions, you actually have a convert to polychain command, not sure if it is the plugin adapted in there, only got 32 bit installed right now, so I canīt say for sure itīs in 64 bit, but check for it, just go
to create/polygons/more/create polychain.

prometheus
04-08-2014, 04:07 AM
In the latest lw versions, you actually have a convert to polychain command, not sure if it is the plugin adapted in there, only got 32 bit installed right now, so I canīt say for sure itīs in 64 bit, but check for it, just go
to create/polygons/more/create polychain.

Updated...

You should of course add px_bezier for a good spline curve tool, tube tool, polytool and extender...it does all that, and it has a line tool which creates straight lines conseqently, but you can also choose the curve mode and draw nice curves, then simply switch
back to line mode, and it will retain the curve(if you have enough points) but it has now made it in to polychains, you also have a lot of control over segment points and undo system for each action in the tool, and snapping ctrls.

So creating a curve with pz_bezier, then switch to line mode and drop it and you have your polychain, ready for fiberfx, clothfx dynamics or bullet dynamics.

erikals
04-08-2014, 04:19 AM
might be of use too


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehlME-KNu2c

Sensei
04-08-2014, 05:20 AM
EasySpline (http://www.easyspline.com) has interactive tool Spline Density allowing to quantize long spline to smaller segments with wanted by you quantity.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfgTdxWSCCk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfgTdxWSCCk

JoePoe
04-08-2014, 08:16 AM
You can go back and forth with ef Toggle Lines/Curves (https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/ef-toggle-linescurves/). 64 Bit.

erikals
04-08-2014, 10:41 AM
another one i had yet to cover... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif


http://youtu.be/7ED3HctngfQ

Philbert
04-08-2014, 11:28 AM
Lots of useful stuff here. I was also reminded of Select Path which seems pretty useful in times when I would normally use Select Loop but I'm at the edge of an object so it selects the entire thing instead of just one side.

prometheus
04-08-2014, 04:48 PM
EasySpline (http://www.easyspline.com) has interactive tool Spline Density allowing to quantize long spline to smaller segments with wanted by you quantity.



Hi Sensei!

I really like Px_bezier curve, and it seems you can do pretty much that with segments too with px bezier, Just curious..whatīs the main difference with your bezier curve types and px bezier?
Then I am curious what tools you are improving on now? or what else you got under your development sleeve right now...if you want to reveal that at this time of course?

Michael

JoePoe
04-08-2014, 05:28 PM
Since we are (sort of) in the topic....
I soooo wish that PX_Bezier could use a background curve to do it's thing(s).
Hopefully I just missed this feature. Anyone?

erikals
04-08-2014, 05:38 PM
afaik, no, no background curve option...

prometheus
04-08-2014, 06:07 PM
Since we are (sort of) in the topic....
I soooo wish that PX_Bezier could use a background curve to do it's thing(s).
Hopefully I just missed this feature. Anyone?

Nope..I donīt think so either, he has done the C_worm lt... which I really would like to see sort of merged with px bezier, that would be an awesome tool all together...
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/C_WormLt/

You also have curve conform, curv snake, curv forme etc in there with all wonderful px tools.

for px bezier though, you can save out any curve you have drawn to a library folder, then reload to use on tubes, face,line or some of the other modes available, here I would like too se an option to convert lightwave curves to
px bezier curves and able to save out those, but for the current options, you can only save out spline curves done with px bezier...and you must save it with the tool open, you canīt pick it up after it is dropped and save it out.
Saving the curve can be done where you have knot/tube/setup in the setup tab ..save path or load path.

Michael