PDA

View Full Version : Dolphin Tutorial?

Columbo24
04-05-2014, 03:05 PM
Hi
I've been working on the dolphin modeling tutorial recommended by a member of this forum. I'm very new to modeling and have a couple questions concerning the tutorial.
1.When I finish beveling a dolphin torso from an 8 sided disc, if I don't have a smooth taper(It pinches in in and also bulges in its shape), how do I correct this after the fact? I've tried to drag vertices and match them to the side view and top view of the dolphin to get its shape, but I end up with weird geometric patterns in the mesh.
2.I used the tunnel from the drill tool to make a hole on the top of the dolphin and and used P to create an 8 sided polygon. When I selected this new polygon(to bevel it) it's yellow dotted line was not at 90 degrees but at 80, so the fin was at an angle. If a polygon is at a weird angle how do I correct in a mesh?
3.Is there any basic info regarding polygons? I know that the simpler the shape the better,but how can I tell if I have a good mesh? Are there rules about polygons?
Maybe even a more basic tutorial explaining how to use the most common tools and their impact on polygons. Again to each and everyone who helps others with this program a huge thanks. All of your time is appreciated.
Bill

hrgiger
04-05-2014, 03:57 PM
Hi Bill. I created the dolphin tutorial I can try and help answer your questions.

1. The easiest thing to do I find is to select one loop at a time (resulting from each bevel you made) and scale or stretch them one at a time to smooth out your model. Use your top and side views for this to ensure you're getting a smooth taper along the body of the dolphin. I would recommend using scale and stretch tool for this. You can use the drag tool to move points individually. It may even help you to delete one side of the dolphin, make your adjustments, and then mirror the body over when you're done.