PDA

View Full Version : Surfacing with an alpha problem?



malikai666
11-20-2003, 01:55 PM
Can someone tell me the right way to surface this. basically what I want is text that writes on that I made from after effects and rendered as a quicktime with a alpha channel.I dont want the plane to show at all just the text so it will look like floating text
with an alpha channel

I built a flat square plane in modeler so I can surface the text to it.
I put my movie in on color, luminosity and transparency with transparency at 100% And now it almost is correct.

now my problem comes with the transparancy. it seems to just outline my letters from my movie. but the letters are solid. even the alpha is outlining the letters for some reason. so rather then solid letters its giving me an outline.
any Ideas why?

toby
11-21-2003, 01:30 AM
You only need to put the map ( black and white ) in the transparency channel, and without the Alpha. If you want Luminosity just turn it on and it will get clipped by the transparency.

You could also try the movie as a clip map.

Beamtracer
11-21-2003, 02:14 AM
Yeah, use After Effects and render off an "alpha only" and place this in the transparency channel.