PDA

View Full Version : Occlusion node - turn on and off for all objects at once?



egearbox
03-25-2014, 10:31 AM
I really like the look that the Occlusion node (in the node-based Surface editor) provides, but wow, does it kill render times. Is there a way to turn it on and off for all items in the scene?

Or is the best way to deal with occlusion in general to bake it into each object in separate passes, and then not use it in the final?

Suggestions/thoughts?

mummyman
03-25-2014, 10:53 AM
I use ShaderMeister, currently to quickly add occlusion to the whole scene: http://www.db-w.com/products/shadermeister/about

Or, you can use the Surface Baking Camera to bake the Occlusion into the UV atlas map on an object.. then use Texture Point weight in modeler to turn it into a weight map for coloring / etc. Good luck!!!!

dee
03-25-2014, 11:27 AM
Try DP Filter and also try the occlusion node from DP Kit, it has some nice options.

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=120985&d=1395768164

Danner
03-25-2014, 01:21 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FR89lTtXx0

egearbox
03-25-2014, 08:41 PM
Both the Shadermeister and the DP pixel filter look awesome. Thanks to Danner for posting the Youtube link - I was getting pretty frustrated trying to figure it out. (The key: Click the hidden checkboxes!)

vector
03-25-2014, 11:36 PM
It happens to a lot of people... people like me :)

Cageman tut is much better but in this one it's explained how to setup the output files too (near the end of the clip)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUD16fc1c4s#t=20

egearbox
03-26-2014, 05:36 PM
Interesting: I just found this in the "addendum" manual for 11.6 for the Compositing Buffer Export. This looks like a brand-new thing:



• Ambient Occlusion Options - Ambient Occlusion requires radiosity in your render. If you
choose Ambient Occlusion as one of the buffers you wish to export, this button will become
available to you, with additional settings as follows:
121011

These options are similar to the options presented in the Surface Node Editor’s Shaders >
Diffuse > Occlusion Node and work in the same way. If you choose Infinite from the Mode
dropdown, Range is ghosted and the full extent of the scene will be used as the basis for the effect. If you switch to Range then the Range field becomes available and you can set the
distance the Ambient Occlusion looks for Occlusion. In addition, there is an option for using
transparent shadows that shows the shadows for transparent items in your scene.

So apparently you can do ambient occlusion this way also!