PDA

View Full Version : Anti Aliasing - Jagged edges



HolyMonkey-
03-20-2014, 01:14 PM
Howdy~ Been having a slight problem with my sampling for awhile so trying to fix it once and for all to get a nice crispy quality.

My main issue is, I want a sharp and clear image, without getting jagged edges and jagged reflections. As you can see in the two images, I have just switched between two different sampling modes(box blurred and box ). There are no reflection blur in the material. The blurred image gets rid of the jagged edges, but too much detail dissappears. The sharp image is what I want, but the reflections are suffering and the edges are jaggy.

Any idea how to set get crispy detail, without suffering the consequence of jagged edges n reflections?

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14091288/IG/Image_BLURRED.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14091288/IG/Image_Sharp.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14091288/IG/Settings.jpg

God bless~

RebelHill
03-20-2014, 01:21 PM
Using the srGB colourspace preset will help, you can also turn on "limit dynamic range" if that doesnt help much... also be sure to go through the sampling video here... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgNB9tZWUmM&index=2&list=PL8A1C0DB658775A63 if you want more details on using the AA system.

HolyMonkey-
03-20-2014, 01:58 PM
Using the srGB colourspace preset will help, you can also turn on "limit dynamic range" if that doesnt help much... also be sure to go through the sampling video here... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgNB9tZWUmM&index=2&list=PL8A1C0DB658775A63 if you want more details on using the AA system.

Actually saw that video awhile back, but looks like I have to watch it over again :) Dont quite get you on the srGB colourspace, I only thought colourspace changes the brightness n darkness(linearworkflow) and has nothing to do with the sharpness/blur of the image? If so, how you activate it?

RebelHill
03-20-2014, 02:01 PM
Colourspace settings also have an effect on how the AA detector works (in truth its more inportant in darker areas than lighter ones... but still always helps). You can change it in the CS tab in options.

HolyMonkey-
03-20-2014, 02:05 PM
Colourspace settings also have an effect on how the AA detector works (in truth its more inportant in darker areas than lighter ones... but still always helps). You can change it in the CS tab in options.

I tried with sRGB, and it made everything overbright and did not affect the quality of the AA, could i e-mail you the scene and you have a go at it?

spherical
03-20-2014, 04:13 PM
I tried with sRGB, and it made everything overbright and did not affect the quality of the AA, could i e-mail you the scene and you have a go at it?

That is because you made your color and lighting choices in Linear space, not sRGB. When in sRGB, LW is still operating internally in Linear but the display is showing you what the corrected output will be. Re-surface and re-light your models/scene in sRGB colorspace. Everything will look a lot better.

HolyMonkey-
03-21-2014, 01:50 PM
That is because you made your color and lighting choices in Linear space, not sRGB. When in sRGB, LW is still operating internally in Linear but the display is showing you what the corrected output will be. Re-surface and re-light your models/scene in sRGB colorspace. Everything will look a lot better.

Hey, I gave it a try, and there is absolutely no difference in the end result in regards to anti aliasing on the edges and reflection. I usually don't work with LW, so there might be something I am missing here, but to my knowledge srgb, linear workflow and all that does very little in regards to the AA, I've seen people render in linear workflow before with nice AA solutions, so it should be possible!

Did not have time to check out your video yet Rebelhill, but if anyone have any other suggestions, that would be very much appreciated :)

ninok5
03-21-2014, 03:42 PM
I typically just crank up the minimum samples to remove jagged edges (10+), and crank up the maximum to reduce grain(sometimes as high as 40), esp for stills. For animation ill try and find a better balance to save render time. The reconstruction filter is usually set to classic with sampling set to low discrepancy.

Ztreem
03-21-2014, 04:10 PM
Your AA settings are too low. Set maximum samples to something between 10 - 512 and you will get better result. Higher values means better AA quality and longer render times, try to find the best ballance between quality and speed.