PDA

View Full Version : help with interior scene!

parmont
03-15-2014, 04:50 PM
Hello to all,

I've been using lw 9.6 for some years but only for exteriors and not very often. Now i'm asked to do some interior scenes one of them of a kitchen.
As this is my first time with interiors i've reading some tutorials but at the end i getting more confused than before (probably i'm understanding it all wrong).
So right now for this image i have HDRI imageworld, 1 area light as the sun, another area light for the kitchen window and another for the living room at the back of the camera view. On some tutorials they say i'ts better to turn on Inverse-distance ^2 falloff and on other they just keep it off. What shoul be better? And the range? Should it reach the oposite walls or with 1 m it's fine?
The image was rendered with the settings shown in the attached image.
The scene will have also 15 downlights on the ceiling, but not set yet. Should i set them first before starting to change radiosity and light intensity settings. Should i use spotlights or photometric or maybe other type?

What do you think of the image. I'm i at the right path for a realistic looking image?

Would appreciate a lot if some one could give me some hints, please.
Thakyou all.

JonW
03-15-2014, 08:41 PM
Have a look at this thread:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?139689-Trouble-rendering-realistic-scene

See post #12, look at the glass in the windows & the polygon at the very edge of the terrace.

Radiosity is very slow (reason have been explained), just change Multiplier from 100% to 25% for test renders.

You should be working in Linear colour space and then inverse distance lights or ^2 work fine. With the down lights I would have twice the distance of the height of the ceiling. The actual light has to reach a surface to light it or it won't light anything, but you also need falloff. With 15 down lights try then at about 7 - 20% for each light. Spot lights are fine.