PDA

View Full Version : Modelling a fence structure ?



Source
03-15-2014, 11:02 AM
Aiming to do something similar to this image i found on Deviant :

http://s28.postimg.org/emjblc8zx/building.jpg



WIP:

http://s23.postimg.org/co9zwj0uj/WIP.png


My question is, if there is any 'easy' way to create a structure similar to the fence, maybe a plugin of some sorts or something that would shorten the time ?

Cheers

probiner
03-15-2014, 12:00 PM
Are you going to render up-close?

ernpchan
03-15-2014, 12:00 PM
LWCAD.
Wtools3d.com

Source
03-15-2014, 12:38 PM
@Probiner

Sort of , i was thinking the same distance and perspective like on the original (give or take) but its gonna come in animated in a falling way?



@ernpchan

Thanks for the tip !

raw-m
03-15-2014, 01:34 PM
You'll get a chorus of LWCAD for this one :D

If it's a paid job you're doing then the price of the plugin will more than pay for itself in time spent modeling it than if you do it natively in LW.

Source
03-15-2014, 10:18 PM
@raw-m

Will definitely have a look at it, btw nice work !

Said it before, will say it again ; LOVE THIS COMMUNITY

hrgiger
03-16-2014, 02:04 PM
Yes, as mentioned LWCAD. The nice thing is you can create your own custom fencing. Here is a recent trailer I made for LWCAD. You can see the fencing tool at work about 2 minutes in. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jc-MYQyNgO8

JonW
03-16-2014, 02:46 PM
Agree: LWCad

JoePoe
03-16-2014, 03:08 PM
I, personally, would not bog myself down with unnecessary geometry for something visually so delicate/wispy..... especially if you're not intending to get close to it.
First choice - clip map on double sided poly.
If you absolutely want geometry.... however you get there (LWCAD or not), I'd go with the negative line "trick" here. It'll save you thousands and thousands of polys you'll never see or really need. And if it's not coming out wispy enough the fix is super simple (just dialing the number up or down) rather than readjusting geometry or an image.

edit: to add image. I just made one vertical section (drew one circle, arrayed it and added the side polys etc) and arrayed the whole unit. No lwcad here.
120833

erikals
03-16-2014, 04:20 PM
I'd go with the negative line trick

- very fast to make
- looks nice
- easy to adjust line thickness

hrgiger
03-16-2014, 05:03 PM
If youre decorative fences are simple lines then yes. But if you want any kind of detail or form, a line may not be enough.

erikals
03-16-2014, 05:44 PM
yep, depends on how close the cam needs to be.

instancing can be good if it's 100-1000 of them, though it looks in this case not to be necessary.

JoePoe
03-16-2014, 05:45 PM
If youre decorative fences are simple lines then yes. But if you want any kind of detail or form, a line may not be enough.

Certainly!!
That's why I used words like delicate and wispy. :hey: :)

lardbros
03-17-2014, 07:33 AM
LWCAD all the way! Love this tool... my favourite paid for plugin by a long shot! Think he has a special offer on too doesn't he? Or he did recently anyway :D

hrgiger
03-17-2014, 05:46 PM
LWCAD is 20% off until March 31st.

erikals
03-18-2014, 02:25 AM
made a test >


http://youtu.be/T-gQnm1LjWM

inkpen3d
03-18-2014, 06:31 AM
I, personally, would not bog myself down with unnecessary geometry for something visually so delicate/wispy..... especially if you're not intending to get close to it.
First choice - clip map on double sided poly.
If you absolutely want geometry.... however you get there (LWCAD or not), I'd go with the negative line "trick" here. It'll save you thousands and thousands of polys you'll never see or really need. And if it's not coming out wispy enough the fix is super simple (just dialing the number up or down) rather than readjusting geometry or an image.

edit: to add image. I just made one vertical section (drew one circle, arrayed it and added the side polys etc) and arrayed the whole unit. No lwcad here.
120833

FYI: You can only successfully use this negative line trick if you have LW11.5 or later. Prior to this, the thickness of the generated lines would not change with distance to the camera (i.e. they would always be a constant number of pixels wide). So, in your case, the railings would look the same thickness whether they were near to or far from the camera! Likewise, if the camera moved - no change in thickness as the object to camera distance changed.

Back around LW11.0.3 I was (so) frustrated by this constant pixel width limitation so I submitted a feature request to the LWDG suggesting that they make the negative line thickness vary according to the distance from the camera, which they promptly implemented for LW11.5 - so Kudos to them for listening!

Regards,
Peter

erikals
03-18-2014, 04:04 PM
test 2... >


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K91-bJUiR-M

erikals
03-18-2014, 04:45 PM
test 3, using PX_Bezier... >


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CzuGsSRvdOw

hrgiger
03-19-2014, 03:00 AM
It would take less then 30 seconds to do those tests in LWCAD :)

erikals
03-19-2014, 09:55 AM
hm.. sounds great,.. but with what tool.. ?

erikals
03-19-2014, 04:04 PM
anyone knows what LWCAD tool it is... ?

hrgiger
03-19-2014, 04:50 PM
Oh sorry didn't see your post til now. Profiler. Draw a curve and choose profiler and it will profile the curve with whatever shape you have selected in library. You can change shapes, adjust curve resolution and scale and twist along curve all interactively. Because profile shapes are nurbs curves, it allows you to adjust curved shape resolution. You can see Viktors video from his video user manual here: http://www.wtools3d.com/manual/manual3/assets/video/profiler/profiler.htm

raw-m
03-19-2014, 04:52 PM
Off the top of my head, I think you can do it with the Pipe tool, as well.

hrgiger
03-19-2014, 04:56 PM
Off the top of my head, I think you can do it with the Pipe tool, as well.

Well you could make a round or square pipe (and adjust its resolution) for a fence if that's what it called for but the pipe tool does not access preset libraries so you cant change its shape like you can with profiler.

raw-m
03-19-2014, 05:07 PM
Yes, love the Profile tool! If there was just a way you didn't have to commit when you've made your shape, so you could go back an edit base shape, curve etc. (but that's for another day!).

hrgiger
03-19-2014, 05:35 PM
Well its just like any other tool in LightWave, once you drop it, its done. That's the price we pay without a modifier stack or history of any kind. But LWCAD does have instances with windows and doors so you can change them anytime later after tool has been used.

erikals
03-19-2014, 06:43 PM
thank you for link and info, looks very nice indeed http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

creating an exact path is the time consuming part here, so not sure about 30 sec though...

but LWCad is looking more and more tempting... http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/phone_call.gif