PDA

View Full Version : software army

saranine
02-28-2014, 01:54 AM
I am no expert on what software does or doesn't do. Thus I decided to write down all of the 3D/creative software that I have and then ask if there is any area that I am missing out on. It is all commercially licenced and fully paid for unless stated otherwise [ no student or trial software etc] :

Lightwave 11
Form Z 7
Maxwell Render 3
Blender [free lol]
Messiah Studio
zbrush
hitfilm
filter forge
fruity loops
terragen
marmoset toolbag
scirra construct
topogun
Adobe CS6 [a student version that I bought when I was doing a Dip of graphics design]: whole lot collection includes premiere, after effects, photoshop extended, Indesign etc etc.
corel painter 12 [ I don't want to upgrade]

This is not a showing off exercise; I am sure that there are people on these forums who have a lot more software than this. I had saved up a lot of money during my graphics diploma.

Specifically, is there anything that jumps out as being any issue to do? Or is there is anything that this set of software has a strength in doing? Such as being better for hard modelling [aircraft , boats etc] rather than for dragons? It seems to me that if I have any weak point it might be particle effects or maybe, animation [ though messiah should help]. My strategy this year and part of last year was to avoid false economy. There were at times cheaper things that I could have got [eg modo on sale] that my research told me may have not have been good in the long run. So I set out to get it right even if it cost more in the short run.

I realise that I have ignored issues of hardware or input devices [ eg wacoms] for now. I do have those areas covered well enough but they may belong to a different thread.