PDA

View Full Version : LW - CryEngine

Luc_Feri
02-25-2014, 04:01 AM
Hi all,

I'm just in the process of going through the CryEngine tutorials on Digital Tutors and will be trying to implement a workflow to use the free SDK to create architectural or level style walkthroughs in my pipeline.

I'm primarily a hobbyist but have been developing my skills by self study and hard graft for possible future freelance work or a job in the industry.

I will post my developments here and anyone is welcome to help and contribute to this thread if they would like, please do. I am aware that in the past there have been a couple of threads but these are old and have died of death a little. I'm hoping to put a bit of life into this type of workflow so wish me luck. :D

Why did I choose CryEngine over Unity or Unreal Engine.

Simple really. Unity free version does not have enough advanced lighting options and is more limited graphically, although the workflow I have tried before is very good with Lightwave. Unreal Engine is a close second and would play better with substance designer which I own, however, l believe lighting needs to be baked and this can take some time and I wanted a more real time visual option. If I fail with CryEngine then I will move over to Unreal.

Luc_Feri
02-25-2014, 04:30 AM
So far level design and creation seems pretty intuitive.

Layer painting, vegetation and mesh object placement, road and river creation, again seem easy enough.

That is all stock content though and should be easy, the real challenges lie in being able to bring my own assests in and being more customised.