PDA

View Full Version : Returning to Lightwave

Scamp Vamp
02-14-2014, 11:11 AM
Hello all.

I am a Lightwave hobbyist who is just now getting back into 3D graphics after a number of years away from it.
I still have my copy of 9.6 from 2007/2008 but I was wondering if it was worth it for a hobbyist to upgrade to v11.6.

I am interested in character and mechanical models with a view to rendering with a cel shaded look.

I would just like some of your opinions please on how Lightwave is now and what new features would benefit me for producing the above mentioned images. Or would I bet just as well sticking with 9.6.

Time to dust of the manuals and get learning again :)

Many thanks in advance.

ernpchan
02-14-2014, 11:16 AM
The 11 series is nice but if you're a hobbyist I would suggest getting proficient first. What you want to do is already possible in 9.6.

souzou
02-14-2014, 11:40 AM
In case you haven't seen it there is a special offer that finishes today that is $200 off upgrades (so $495 instead of $695) which translates to about £300. There were a few additions in v10 but lots in v11. There were a few changes with edges that help with cel shading, and imho VPR is a massive addition.

Have a look at the lw site to check out new features if you haven't already: https://www.lightwave3d.com/overview/

Surrealist.
02-14-2014, 12:18 PM
Also don't forget Genoma for rigging characters, is a fairly significant feature in that area.

I am not sure how far off 12 is, but, I don't know I'd maybe be inclined to wait because 11 has been around for what about a year now or more right?

bobakabob
02-14-2014, 12:22 PM
VPR, the interactive renderer is a huge leap forward and makes animating and surfacing so much easier. Genoma, Bullet and Instancing are all very strong features. You wouldn't regret upgrading.

Scamp Vamp
02-14-2014, 01:07 PM
Wow thank you for the fast replies.