PDA

View Full Version : Photographer Trying Lightwave 11.6.1 For First Time

langen
02-09-2014, 09:04 PM
Hi,

I'm a photographer who has lost 3 big clients to CGI in the past year. All these clients make products for home and office- furniture, bathtubs, appliances.
I can see my remaining clients going this route and therefore I'm highly motivated to gain a working knowledge of CGI.

My goal is not to animate but to make photorealistic renderings of room interiors, import CAD drawings or photographs of products as described above, place these objects or photographs in the environments after applying appropriate materials, and also create models of packaging that doesn't yet exist but has artwork (labels and graphics). Eventually I want to create more organic settings into which I can place photographs of people and products.

Even though I'm not at all familiar with this world, I did extensive research that led me to Lightwave and here we are. I should say that I spent 30 hours trying to get on to 3ds Max on the advice of an architect, but it didn't click with me at all and the UI was created by a sadist, not to mention I had never used Windows until creating a Bootcamp partition on my Mac in order to use the software. Don't like Windows as I'm not familiar with it and there's enough learning going on without getting into a new OS.

I've downloaded the LightWave 11.6.1 application and am using the online tutorials for beginners and I'm feeling rather challenged by this new world.