PDA

View Full Version : RenderQ vs LWSN on same machine

raw-m
02-03-2014, 10:58 AM
I've been using LWSN locally on the same computer (mac) for a while, rendering scenes with all it's 8 cores on the go. Haven't really used RenderQ before so decided to give it a go as theres little setting up. Is renderQ multithreaded, so using it to rendering a sequence one frame at a time is quicker than rendering 8 frames at a time using LWSN (which is obviously slower)?

Be gentle, I'm not that technically minded!

ernpchan
02-03-2014, 11:03 AM
I belieive RenderQ is just loading up scenes in Layout and then rendering that way. So it should be using the same resources as lwsn if it's on the same box.

Now if RenderQ requires more resources because you have the actual program up and not just the command-line...that I don't know.

Markc
02-03-2014, 11:57 AM
Have you tried SNUB launcher.
I find it very useful, as you don't need LightWave running (it uses LWSN).

raw-m
02-03-2014, 12:10 PM
Thanks all. Yes, I've used SNUB and it's very handy. Adding a list of files to RenderQ is very quick so was wondering what the performance difference was. Sounds like there might not be much in it...

JonW
02-03-2014, 12:23 PM
I believe render Q is for one computer, I have never tried it & I could be wrong. Have you tried Screamernet & a second second computer or are you simply using SN only on the one computer?

If you have only been using the one computer then it is worth getting another one rendering.

raw-m
02-03-2014, 02:20 PM
Can you clarify that last point, JonW? I generally work on one computer, using LWSN using 2-4 nodes in the background if I'm working on other stuff or render over lunch/night with more nodes. I'm a bit of a one-man-band so use what I have with me.

ernpchan
02-03-2014, 02:39 PM
RenderQ is in Layout. What it does is load up one scene after another to render them. It's just a more automated way of doing local F10s.

JonW
02-03-2014, 02:41 PM