PDA

View Full Version : what does a sand dune and mountain explosions and a disco ball have in common?

vonpietro
02-01-2014, 05:55 PM
hi everyone,

happy chinese new year.

what does a sand dune and mountain explosions and a disco ball have in common?
there all lil projects i'm working on. =)

So, i'm trying to create a vehicle smashing though the crest of a sand dune.
it come up the other side and smashes through the crest like its a wave of water, but it's sand.

My first thought was to use something like real flow for that.
I'm looking for the sand to explode to the left and right and front as a buggy crashes through it.

maybe displaceing a volume of particles?

any one have any ideas how to do this?

thanks

Also, i'm new to bullet.
any one know what i would have to do to blow up a mountain?
what the steps would be to set something like that up?
model a mountain,
crack it with crack it plugin
seed with a lot of small lil rocks of various sizes and
now what?
do i need a force to explode it?

shot is a beam weapon not a missle that hits a mountain and puts a hole through it which explodes.

thanks for that too

oh ya, one more thing
a disco ball, any thoughts on this one, i was thinking of instancing squares onto a ball, pretty simple actually, but does lw render all the spots on the wall? do i need a big white 100 lum not seen by camera ball to have something to actually reflect? i'll try it out, but if anyone has done one with good results i would love to hear your story.

i have 11.6 lightwave so i'm up to date (i'm also a cg generalist having worked on various movies and tv shows), i've just been out of touch for awhile and i'm trying to get back into the swing of things.
peter p.

prometheus
02-02-2014, 02:39 AM
Particles is doable for a vehicle smashing through a sand dune...check Mr Ridīs video here...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CquWZowXR14

Mountain exploding?...donīt think Ivé seen one actually explode:)