PDA

View Full Version : LW instancing Question : How you instance a GROUP of Objects?



robertoortiz
01-15-2014, 08:39 AM
Hey guys, I am working on a project where i Need to instance thousands of Supermarket shelves full of products.
Is there a way to do nested instances?

And how do make the original objects disappear from the scene when rendering?

Thanks in advance,

-R

ernpchan
01-15-2014, 08:50 AM
The answer to your second question is to uncheck it from the Scene Editor.

Lewis
01-15-2014, 08:52 AM
1. There is column for Parenting checkmark at instancing panel so you can instane parenting layers of meshes BUT you can't Instance somethign that's already instanced wiht NATIVE instancing :(.

As for 2nd as Ernest said you just uncheck it in Scene editor.

dpont
01-15-2014, 09:26 AM
...BUT you can't Instance somethign that's already instanced wiht NATIVE instancing

Possible with native instancing, not with actual native instancer,
until previous instances are evaluated before,
so objects must be properly ordered in the scene.

Denis.

robertoortiz
01-15-2014, 10:13 AM
The answer to your second question is to uncheck it from the Scene Editor.
Thanks!
There is so counter intuitive is not even funny. Thanks!

And here is a dozzy of a request from the client.
Is there is a way to randomize the elements on the shelves, ot at least change the colors of the items on the shelves?

ernpchan
01-15-2014, 10:36 AM
Thanks!
There is so counter intuitive is not even funny. Thanks!

And here is a dozzy of a request from the client.
Is there is a way to randomize the elements on the shelves, ot at least change the colors of the items on the shelves?

You can randomize the colors via nodes.

If you're instancing the items on the shelves, you should be able to play with the random seed or the percentage sliders to randomize what gets instanced.

Lewis
01-15-2014, 10:41 AM
Possible with native instancing, not with actual native instancer,
until previous instances are evaluated before,
so objects must be properly ordered in the scene.

Denis.

By NATIVE i mean native to LW i.e. native LW Instancing, your plugin CAN do it (I Know) but that's 3rd party plugin so it's not considrered "Native instancing" AFAIK.

aquinde
01-15-2014, 11:09 AM
You can randomize the colors via nodes.

If you're instancing the items on the shelves, you should be able to play with the random seed or the percentage sliders to randomize what gets instanced.

I take an Instance Info node and feed it the Fixed Random into the input of a Gradient with colors and connect that to the Color channel of the surface to randomize colors.

dpont
01-15-2014, 11:12 AM
By NATIVE i mean native to LW i.e. native LW Instancing, your plugin CAN do it (I Know) but that's 3rd party plugin so it's not considrered "Native instancing" AFAIK.

This is native instancing, I mean for DP Instancer,
as an instancer it is an interface of the LW Instancing system,
tied to a part of the SDK called 'instancing',
but provides is own distribution.
Of course DP Instance (volumetric plugin) has its own instancing system.

Denis.

Lewis
01-15-2014, 12:00 PM
This is native instancing, I mean for DP Instancer,
as an instancer it is an interface of the LW Instancing system,
tied to a part of the SDK called 'instancing',
but provides is own distribution.
Of course DP Instance (volumetric plugin) has its own instancing system.

Denis.

We can argue about semantics but NATIVE is what get's installed with LW out of box or Register/download page so unless your plugin is listed there when users login to their register page it's still 3rd party and not NATIVE :). I'm not speaking aobut how it works (I understand what you are saying) but how is it installed/availalbe and Roberto asked about native instance tool and not DP_Instance (yes i have it installed and kudos to you for creating it but it's still not native tool/feature strictly speaking ;)).


cheers

dpont
01-15-2014, 12:24 PM
...semantics...

Not only semantics,
I don't think there's a confusion between native Tools and 3rd party for LW users
but they are often confused with two different things,
distribution, you can do it with geometry, full clones or pièces and instances,
and this is done with such tool including instancer,
instancing, is a part of the renderer structure and raytracing,
allowing to limit the memory used and so potentially also rendering time
this is how things are done and named by Lightwave,
I can't say that DP Instancer is using 3rd party instancing
because this not right.

Denis.

robertoortiz
01-15-2014, 01:20 PM
Thanks guys,
I got it work.
I owe you all one.

-R

raw-m
01-15-2014, 02:17 PM
Is there is a way to randomize the elements on the shelves

Changing the Seed should allow you to do this.