PDA

View Full Version : Random



Andy Webb
01-08-2014, 10:46 AM
Does anyone know of a plugin for modeller that will either randomly select layers or randomly select surfaces?

I have a pile of stones in different layers all with different surface names and I need to colour them in randomly.

There is an old Layout plugin which selects random layers, and works great, but it doesn't highlight the surfaces of the selected layers.

Any suggestions... cheers

daforum
01-08-2014, 11:03 AM
Andy, these might be of use:
MODELER https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/surface-rename-editor/
LAYOUT https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/mig-pick-surface/

Hope they help :)

Andy Webb
01-08-2014, 11:18 AM
Thanks, I have mig-pick-surface already, it's a shame it doesn't show the surfaces for already selected layers.

At present I plan to use the RandomSel scripts to select some layers in layout, hide the unselected layers and use mig-pick to find the surfaces of the unhidden layers.

Long winded when you have 800 layers and 800 surfaces!